cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Surgery is done

Ok, I did it. Through the gauntlet. I'm in rough shape after the surgery. Only have 1 hand to type with most of the time. Lots of pain still. I'm at work today. Recovery from surgery has been harder than I expected. I didn't get good instructions on how to care for the wound. I'm not even sure when I get the stitches out. I don't know if or when I'm supposed to wash it.

Today I'm trying to get through the day without taking any percocet. I've built up too much resistance to it over the last few days so I want to take a day off. I just want to go home and lay down and ice my elbow but I've missed too much work already.

What I didn't expect during recovery was the sheer exhaustion on every level. For 3 and a half days I literally couldn't even watch a movie or read a book. I would start to make the attempt and then it was literally too tiring to sit up and look at a screen. I spent hours on end just laying in bed with my eyes closed, doing nothing. Not sleeping - just laying there. A few times day I would get a sort of wave of energy for maybe 45 minutes or so. Then I could play a little bit with Harry and read him a book, or play poker with Ida or something. And then suddenly I'd be overcome again and need to lie back down for the rest of the day.

My right elbow is hurting a lot today as well. Really bad timing there. I'm getting that one operated on in late January, assuming that I'm happy with the results of this surgery.

The surgeon told Trish (while I was still unconscious) that he'd had to go deeper and cut away more tissue than he had expected. So initial recovery is longer and harder and more painful than I'd been prepared for. Absurdly, my big fear going into this thing was that they would put me under and open up my elbow and look around and decide that there wasn't anything really wrong inside that they could do something about surgically. That they'd stitch me up and the whole thing would be for nothing. Turned out to be quite the opposite.

I still taught my class yesterday afternoon. That went well. We covered digestive and sensory anatomy, talked a little bit about shot placement and did some gun safety review as well since next weekend is the class range day.

Oh I just want to go home and lay down. Take some tramadol. This hurts so much. I am in aot of pain right now.

10:15 a.m. - 2009-09-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far