cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Whom I Would Like As Students

My class is continuing to go well and my elbow is getting better after surgery. It still hurts, but not as much. I still can't bring myself to look at the stitches.

People are asking me to do the course again after this one ends. And I've been thinking about how I'd do that, maybe finding a better classroom, etc. So I was thinking about the type of people who are in the class right now, and how much fun its going to be tomorrow when I'm taking them to the shooting range. This gaggle of obviously left-wing liberal Democrats out shooting rifles side by side with the right-wing rednecks who frequent the range. Its going to be great, because suddenly they all have something in common.

While I was thinking about that, I saw a picture of the girl who stars in the movie adaptation of the recent book, 'Push.' And I looked at her and I thought "that is exactly who I want in my next class."

I would completely fucking love to have a class half full of urban, overweight black women. I would truly relish the experience of teaching those people to hunt deer for food and then turning them loose into the redneck-dominated (not that I have anything against rednecks) mainstream hunting culture and see what happens. I think that a lot of people would end up having to completely re-think their entire world views after bumping into a woman like that at the gun store and having a chat about the relative merits of different rifle scopes and antler rattling techniques.

4:00 p.m. - 2009-10-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far