cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh shit the Times is doing a story on me

Oh shit. Dude. I had an email waiting for me this morning from a reporter for the New York Times. He wants to do a story on my classes. I talked to the guy for about 30 minutes on the phone this morning. He's trying to get the OK from his editors to come down here for a weekend at the end of the month. They want to do a print article for the dining section and then also produce a video segment for their website.

Well, this is turning out to be quite a new chapter after all.

A big part of me does not want to deal with this. But I am really good at these interviews and a write-up in the NY Times could cinch me a really nice book deal. I mean, I'd be out of my fucking mind not to jump on this.

The thing that's making me kind of nervous is having all of this media shit to deal with when what I should be focusing on is curriculum development and completing the book. But of course what good is the book without a deal with a publisher and an advance? I have to make hay while the sun shines.

This reporter wants to come down for opening day of the muzzleloader season, which happens to be Halloween. That day I am aiming to have our class field trip to learn how to field dress a deer. But holy shit, talk about pressure to make a shot and tag a deer. I mean seriously. I need to have a dead deer on the ground and ready to dress out that morning or else not only does the class have nothing to work on, but this guy from the New York Times will have come all the way down here for nothing.

What I'm going to have to do is get the word out to as many hunters as I can who will be out there on opening day at dawn that I desperately need an un-dressed deer for the class.

Shit.

Then of course there's the other reporter for the local paper coming to this weekend's class. I need to get the lesson plan for this Sunday squared away already.

10:40 a.m. - 2009-10-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far