cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The World Keeps Beating a Path to My Door

Tomorrow I leave for the wild boar hunt.

Last night I was volunteering for ******'s campaign for governor at the office down the street. Phone banking and such. Apparantly my natural talent for shit was in evidence, because the staffer chick heard me on the phone and then quietly asked me to come with her to do an interview with a TV news crew. The anchor wanted to interview a volunteer rather than a staffer and out of the 20-some volunteers that evening I was the one to do it.

The interview went well, I did an awesome job, gave them good soundbytes and promoted the candidate.

I'm not exactly annoyed by it, but its really fucking weird how I am constantly on the news without even trying. On the 10th of November I'm going on a talk radio show and will have the opportunity to promote my book.

Other news includes my being contacted by the state department of natural resources yesterday. The guy who is in charge of all the deer in the state wanted to hear all about my classes and he and the whole staff are falling all over themselves to help me. He's going to have the state biologists help me to get freshly-killed deer on the days when I schedule field trips to teach my students how to field dress and butcher deer. This is a real issue for me and this help means that I can teach the class year-round instead of just during hunting season.

Also, I have decided to start charging money when I start the new class with a new group of students. Its an 8 week class and I'm going to charge $100 a head. I desperately need the money. I'll let people break up the payments if they need to, but I'm going to charge money for this now. I'm good at what I do and the gas to come into town on Sunday, the time spent not only teaching but preparing and printing course materials and everything else involved costs me money.

With 12 students per class, I could theoretically make an extra $7,200 a year by doing this. That money will really come in handy if I can keep the classes full.

3:31 p.m. - 2009-10-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far