cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Famine Season

I got smacked down hard by a really bad cold Friday evening. Today I'm feeling a lot better, but Saturday in particular was brutal. A fever somewhere north of 100 degrees, body aches, and terribly swollen glands in my neck.

Hopefully it will be all gone by Wednesday morning, for that is when I leave for my wild boar hunt. Somehow I need to scrap together at least $60 for that. I need to cover my share of the gas to drive there, a $10 fee to hunt feral pigs in the wildlife refuge (why are they charging me money when I am doing them a favor be eliminating an invasive non-native species from a delicate ecosystem?), $20 for my half of the cost to rent a cabin for a night nearby, $6 for a box of 12 gauge slugs, and a few bucks left over for food.

Meanwhile I've been off of my bupropion for over a week now for lack of the $10 co-payment. We are going to run out of heating oil any day now and will need at least $260 for the minimum order of 100 gallons.

Fuck. I need money desperately. I would sell a kidney right now, if I wasn't already down to just the one.

Class went well last night, as usual. I somehow let myself get talked into volunteering to do political campaign work tonight after work and I'm really regretting it. I fucking HATE phone banking and I just want to go home and read books to Harry.

But all is not so bleak. In fact, I just scraped up an entire $2.26 in loose change -- enough to purchase 2 items from the dollar menu at McDonalds for lunch, including tax.

I wish that Trish could start working again. But that just doesn't work with a child under the age of 3 and a kindergartner in the household. Who would take care of Harry? Who would be there to meet Ida at the bus stop after school?

3:30 p.m. - 2009-10-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far