cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Going Where the Money Is

Once again, I woke up at a little before 3 am and couldn't get back to sleep. After an hour of trying without success I gave up, showered, and came to work.

It was while I was sitting here at my desk at around 6 am that it I had an interesting idea. This article about me is running in the NY Times next week. And the class I teach is something that I'm only charging $50 for here, which I would be charging $100 but I already had some people who'd asked to sign up not expecting it to be $100. Whatever. The point is that I think I could do this class as 2 intensive weekends in NYC and charge as much as $800 a head for it.

No way I could charge that much down here, but in NYC they've got this whole weird butchering fad, etc. People are paying outrageous prices just to learn how to butcher a pig. I'm teaching butchering along with all of the hunting material. And my butchering methods that I teach are tailored for the typical person's kitchen rather than a commercially equipped facility, so people can actually practice what I preach.

I can take the train or drive or fly or whatever to NYC for the weekend and then come back Sunday night. I did some math and figure that with transportation, hotel, rental of a conference room, cost of taking them to a shooting range upstate, etc., my expenses would be about $2,000 with a class of 12. I'd end up with over $7,000 in profit for having given up 2 weekends.

If I did this 6 times a year then this would be a pretty good little business, equalling my current salary.

The tricky thing would be the field dressing demonstration, which I feel is essential. I don't know how I would get a fresh deer or where we'd do the demo. Possibly I could get support from NY's DNR of a type that is similar to what my own state is doing to help me get deer for future classes.

If I could manage to do this, my money problems would be over. Especially if I can combine this with a book deal and little things like speaking at conferences and shit.

1:22 p.m. - 2009-11-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far