cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So Close, So Far

Another good class last night. I taught anatomy and evolution. This was my first time teaching deer evolution and I only decided to tie it in with the anatomy class at the last minute. I think I did a good job with the evolutionary biology stuff, but I could have done a better job of explaining the specifics of what the differences are between the vestigal toe bones of new world versus old world deer and how these differences demonstrate the fact that each group of deer evolved independantly of the other.

The reporter from NPR was there, recording most of the class. She interviewed me and interviewed some of my students and is going to come to a field dressing demo soon. I guess the piece will air some time in December.

Meanwhile, I am flat fucking broke. Nothing. Dirt fucking nothing. I gave Trish a $10 bill yesterday to use for a few gallons of gas if need be. I have a little under a half a tank. And that's it. All credit is tapped out. Bank balance is zero. I have 75 cents in my pocket and that is it. Literally, I have not eaten all day for lack of money and it is almost 3 pm. I don't get paid for another 7 days. I have no idea what I'm going to do when I run low on gas before then. We are supposed to do all kinds of driving on Thanksgiving, but I'm afraid we might have to stay home for lack of gas money.

If I can't sell this book soon, I am deeply fucked. Like, I am one flat tire away from total disaster now. Let alone a burned out transmission, or a big hospital bill. No idea what to do when we run out of heating oil. I don't know how I'm going to make it through the winter without becoming homeless.

10:28 a.m. - 2009-11-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far