cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ODing on Deer

Honestly, I'm getting a little sick of all the deer stuff. I have to hunt fucking constantly to try to get deer for field dressing demonstrations. The pressure is not pleasant.

The kids are now obsessed as well. Ida had been anyway, but now Harry (who will be 3 years old in February) will not stop talking about deer and deer hunting. It is kind of ridiculous. There are 2 kinds of playing that he is engaged in probably 80% of his waking hours. Pretending to hunt and butcher deer, and pretended to teach classes about how to do the same.

Our one comfort in this is that there is not a trace of violence in his behavior. He doesn't talk about wanting to cause pain to the deer and there is no aggression in what he is doing. Its just that this is what he sees my job as, so this is the kind of play that he engages in. You get your rifle, go find a deer, shoot it, and then cut it into steaks and eat it. So that is what he does. All the way through butchering and attempting to put the imaginary meat into the oven.

I had tried banning toy rifles fro the house for years, but he is determined to play deer hunting so he'll take any stick or little broom or whatever and use that as his 'rifle.'

Last weekend I got another wild turkey and he came with me. Afterwards, he was very angry with me for having taken the shot myself rather than letting him do it with the 3 foot lenth of rigid foam pipe insulation that he had picked up from somewhere and was pointing at the turkey.

That turkey, by the way, ended up weighing about 12 pounds after being plucked and gutted. A nice big bird! I'm hoping that Trish will get a couple and maybe Ida will get one as well before the season is out. I want to bank as much poultry as possible so that we can mix it up some instead of eating nothing but venison for the next 9 months.

None of these various TV show deals have come to fruit yet. I'm worried that I'm spending too much time on this shit when I should be focusing on the book instead.

10:43 a.m. - 2009-12-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far