cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Stabbed Myself in the Leg

The weekend class went really well, aside from the fact that the deer I had to work on was a piece of roadkill that stank horribly. The upside to that is the fact that none of my students could come away from that feeling like I hadn't given them their money's worth. I definitely went the extra mile there.

It was a fuck ton of work. The whole weekend. The HBO film crew didn't get in the way as much as I'd been worried about.

The Monday afterward they wanted to film me on a hunt, but deer season is over in this county. So I suggested that I go hunting squirrels instead, since those are still in season. I did manage to bag a squirrel for the camera with an impressively long shot for a .22 (about 100 yards). I'd have rather taken one closer, but the sun was going down and that was the squirrel I had a clear shot at.

Then I was gutting it and skinning it for the camera and on account of having to kind of rush the process with us losing the light, I didn't sharpen my knife before starting. Long story short, I ended up stabbing myself in the leg while I was skinning it. Down to the bone, just below the left knee. But the camera was rolling so I had to continue as though nothing had happened. I don't think it will be obvious what happened in the film.

On arrival at home I pulled up my pant leg to inspect the wound and found that it was pretty damn deep. This wasn't just a little cut - I got fucking stabbed in the leg. The next morning I went to the doctor and got it properly cleaned up and had a tetanus booster, which has made my right shoulder damned sore.

Oh! I'm flying to NYC next week to meet with this book agent. This is the one who specializes in celebrity chefs and cook books. Hopefully we will see eye to eye and I will sign a deal with her before leaving NY. I am extremely eager to get this book shopped to publishers so that I can take full advantage of upcoming media exposure to maximize the size of the advance money.

I'm meeting up with Mnemsynea and one other former Diaryland person along with various other people while I'm in NYC. I'm only going to be there for 2 nights and one full day.

About an hour ago I sent out an email offering spots in my next course, which is in February. I found a deer farm to get a doe from next time so that there wil be no chance of either not having a deer for the class to work on, nor having to deal with reeking road kill.

Its only been an hour since I sent the email out, but I am suddenly terrified by the fear that I might not get any signups, or that I won't get enough to do the class. 2 people responded right away that they want to come but have scheduling conflicts and can't make it, and nobody has claimed a spot yet.

As usual, I really need the money pretty badly. For for general expenses (heat, groceries, sending my kids to the dentist), but also because I'm using profits from the classes to pay for travel in support of selling my book and building the brand. I'm hopefully doing this workshop in NYC soon, and then I want to see about teaching one for Sl0w F00d LA in March. I've got friends to stay with in both cities, but I need money for airfare, car rental in LA and various other expenses that will pop up. I want the workshop in LA to give me some exposure to TV and film people and hopefully lead to some more paying work on camera. But I need income from the weekend classes to pay for all this until I have a book publisher who can cover some of this as book promotion.

I constantly feel like I'm not doing enough. I mean, I know that it sounds like I'm doing a lot of stuff and pushing this new career to launch as fast as possible. But it still doesn't feel like enough.

12:45 p.m. - 2010-01-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far