cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Real Art

Hey, here's a cool thing that occured to me recently; I have a small army of followers.

I've got about 50 people who have come through my classes and most of them have gotten really enthusastic about what we're doing. I get regular emails from many of them and they are always looking for my advice and offering to help with whatever I'm doing. There's also a core group of people who help me out with elements of my 2 day courses. People who will show up in the middle of nowhere with a laundry list of unusual objects needed for some task.

Then I've got a group of journalists who are ready to cover pretty much anything I'm doing. I've got someone at NPR, a talk radio host, a local TV news producer and a print journalist who are all ready to work with me at any time.

A few days ago I was reading the last interview ever conducted with Kay Kroc, the founder of McDonalds. He was asked what his art really was. And his response was that his real talent is giving other people goals that are satisfying to them.

The more I think about it, that has been the secret of my success in this new career I'm launching. Among my students, reporters and various helpers I give them all novel goals that are satisfying to them and which entail interesting experiences in the process of reaching those goals. That's how I have 6 people meeting me in the middle of nowhere tomorrow at noon to shoot a bunch of st@rlings to cook and eat.

What I need are the means to expand the number of people to whom I'm giving these goals to. I need a kick-ass website. One awesome site with my real-name blog, photos and info about my classes, with some of the longer unpublished things I've written available as free ebook pdfs or whatever.

11:33 a.m. - 2010-03-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far