cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Big in Japan

I want to be big in Japan. Which I think is do-able and I have an actual plan for that.

For this new book that I'm working on, I'm going to write have 2 versions of it. First the North American-centric one for publication in the US in Canada. Once that is done and published, assuming that I have the money to cover such a trip, I'm going to go spend a week or 2 in Japan hunting invasive exotic species there for food as well.

They have a huge problem with bluegill that were introduced in the 1970's, and since they are native to the eastern US I've been fishing for them since I was a kid and should have no trouble with catching them in Japan.

So bluegill plus 2 other species TBD, in order to have 3 extra chapters that are specific to Japan. Then my agent can have this expanded edition to sell for the Japanese publication rights. The Japanese will eat fucking anything and I really think that they will dig my whole premise. I'm not expecting to be a superstar or anything, but I really think that I can develop a solid following of readers there.

Now, if the book has been a success in the US and I have the money from that to finance a whole series of trips, I could do the same thing around the world. In order to get more money out of foreign publication deals I can take short hunting and fishing trips to each targeted country and knock out a couple of extra chapters for that specific market.

Specifically: Japan, Germany, Australia, Brazil, South Korea and perhaps a middle eastern destination. Maybe India?

10:35 a.m. - 2010-03-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far