cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Paydirt!

Well hot damn. I heard from my book agent this morning. She sent the proposal and my first book out to publishers yesterday and already there are 2 that are "over the moon excited," plus Nat. Geographic is also interested and wants to talk.

One of the publishers that is "over the moon" is Random H0use.

Plus there are others who haven't even had time to look at it yet. This is fucking phenomenal. I won't even try to predict how much I will be offered for an advance. Maybe $5k, maybe $50k. No idea. But I will say this much: I will be offered a contract within the next 7 days. I may or may not take it right away (I want to get bids from various publishers to get as much money as possible). But I will have contracts offered very quickly now.

Its kind of absurd. I have literally $1 in my pocket right now. I'm leaving for NYC in a couple of days to teach this workshop and meet with editors and I have no idea how I am going to eat during the trip. BUT, I've got fucking Random H0use looking to give me a book deal.

Spring might really be here.

11:38 a.m. - 2010-03-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far