cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SUCCESS!

Holy shit. I got an offer yesterday late afternoon. $15,000 advance. And at the same time, another press expressed STRONG interest and asked me to send a revised version of several chapters.

I could have this $15k deal right now. And that press said in so many words that they are willing to negotiate on the advance. I did the revisions at lightning speed for this other press, which my agent has told I have another offer and now they are hustling their own counter-offer.

A bidding war for me has started. Holy fucking shit.

The end of this misery is in sight. I have another, even better book to sell in about 6 weeks. I can now legitimately give my occupation as 'author.' I'll probably end up at $20k for this first book. If I get the same money for this other book (which is even better), then I'll be making $40k in advance money alone this year. Minus the 15% commission for my agent. I can get $10-20k for teaching classes, plus probably $5-10k for speaking engagements.

Its here! My new career is finally here. I will have heat and food and gas and medicine again.

Hallelujah.

6:25 p.m. - 2010-03-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far