cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Sudden About-Face

Fucking hell, what a roller coaster.

In spite of the fact that I am absolutely flat fucking broke and without hot water or heat or food, amazing things are happening.

Someone introduced me yesterday to a producer for 'T0p Chef' who wants to meet with me when I come to LA in May. I started getting the LA trip together and am working with some Sl0w Food people to do a workshop there. I should have a whole schedule of things in LA on that trip, hopefully culminating in a TV deal.

It gets better. I'd been turned down very graciously the other day by the editor of 'The J0y of Cooking.' She had clearly read my stuff and had put a lot of thought into it and this woman is such a hugely influential editor that I was honored to even get a rejection email from her (forwarded through my agent).

This morning I logged into my gmail account and saw a bunch of increasingly frantic emails from my agent expressing that this editor seems to have changed her mind and is suddenly VERY interested in me and my book. She wants to know everything about me. My whole damned life story, it seems. Wants sample of my work and so forth. She even wants to talk to me personally, which is unusual in this business at this stage.

All morning I've been throwing stuff together for this highly important editor. If she picks me up, she can get Barnes & Noble to buy 20k copies and do that sort of thing. She can offer a much larger advance than the $15 that I was offered by another publisher last week.

So the good news is that I am in demand and the amount of money on the table is going up. The bad news is that the longer this bidding process gets dragged out, the longer I have to wait until I can have things like hot water and food.

2:28 p.m. - 2010-03-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far