cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wait - This is Success

A hard-won success on Sunday. I successfully installed the new pressure tank and hooked up the hot water heater and FINALLY took a hot shower at home.

The copperhead appeared as expected and I had to kill it. I shot 3 times, none of which hit the head. Ran out of ammo (I was a dipshit and should have been carrying more than 3 rounds) and wound up having to literally beat the creature to death with the butt of the rifle. Now the crappy plastic stock is twisted and broken. Dammit.

Trish stopped taking off for her parents' place every day, so that's nice.

I did an interview today. I really need to work more on my new book. everyone is really excited about it. I'm right on track with the whole plan, but I'm feeling stalled at the moment because I can't book any trips for working on the new book until my advance money for the first book gets here, nor can I plan my trip for my next NYC workshop because I'm waiting for the Sl0w F00d people to absolutely confirm that our venue is all set.

The thing that I need to keep in mind is that I am now a success. I have a book deal. I have a contract in hand for $20,000 that most writers would kill for. I have lots of press and a whole fan club that will read anything I write.

As soon as I have a contract for the new book, assuming that it is for at least $20k, I'm quitting my day job. Or scaling it back to part-time, at least. I should be using this time to write magazine articles and work on books. Between 2 book deals, 6 classes a year and writing for magazines, I
can be making around $58,000 a year, which is more than my current salary is but would result in lower taxes (on account of my health insurance premiums being treated as income because I am part-owner of the business, which I would sell my share in the company when I pull back). That's not counting anything I might get for speaking engagements.

This really is success. I'm a matter of months away from being a full-time professional writer.

4:28 p.m. - 2010-04-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far