cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Complication , Now an Advantage

Well, awesome. I just got off the phone with my agent. She seems kind of blown away and befuddled, which is ok because so am I.

Her agency is going to represent me for the TV stuff, too.

There was a clause in the contract that I'd had a question about, because it appeared to technically prevent me from selling my second book potentially at all in the next 2 years or so. So I'd emailed her to ask if this is really the case and whether we can get a change to that language.

Now with this sudden interest from teh Discovery channel, this issue turns into leverage rather than a complication. Because she has to explain to them why I really need to have the ability to market my other book soon-ish, which is that I'm potentially about to get a ton of publicity for the TV show and for this other book that I'm working on which the show is based on.

This will hopefully make my publishers wet themselves in delight and anticipation and bump up their offer to a multi-book deal for still more money.

Honestly, I don't really care that much whether they make it a multi-book deal or not. It would be neat, but I don't think that this second book is as good a fit for this publisher as the first one is. I know that I can sell this book, regardless. But it would be nice to have some more income guaranteed.

I don't mean to sound like a greedy asshole here. My children and I have just suffered so much this past winter in particular for lack of money, living with no heat and not being able to buy milk for my kids, that I will do whatever I have to in order to get out of that. The way that I can protect my children from cold and hunger is with money. So I have to pursue money for some period of time in a relentless way.

What I'm after isn't a private jet and a multi-million dollar penthouse. I just want to live without lurching from one financial crisis to another. This crazy shit is the best way that I could come up with.

2:54 p.m. - 2010-04-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far