cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Travel

I'm back from my trip, and tomorrow morning I leave again to go to DC and meet with the producers from the Discovery Netw0rk. Oh man, I hope this goes well.

Today I got my tickets for my next trip to NYC. I thought about taking the train but round trip by air is only $143 tax included. And I will get into Manhattan 3 hours sooner.

I prefer to fly into JFK since I can take the train/subway the whole way to Penn Station. I think this is my first time flying into Laguardia, but I refuse to bow to convention and take a cab or shuttle into the city. I looked up bus routes and transfers and it seems that I can grab the M60 bus right from the airport all the way to 125th steet uptown. From there I can take the subway to my sister's apartment, mid-town.

This has been my philosophy in travelling during the last year or so. To just dive right into the public transportation in almost every city I visit and trust that diligent research in advance and padding my schedule will make it all go ok. I've been taking subways, trains and buses in Munich, Paris, DC, NYC and San Juan PR. Every single time I have been happy afterwards that I did it. You just see more of a place that way.

The one thing I can do without is sitting with drooling, jibbering crowds of idiots on Amtrak at times. Every now and then I find myself surrounded by loud morons on Amtrak and the annoyance can continue for hours and hours. This is an order of magnitude more annoying than anything I have ever run into on an airplane. On some trains I can get a seat in first class for only a few bucks extra and avoid all of that, but somehow most of my trips end up on trains without a first class car.

It is always a good feeling to have plane tickets booked for something. I like flying on airplanes and I like looking forward to it.

4:56 p.m. - 2010-04-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far