cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So I Think I'm Going to Have a TV Show

Yesterday's meeting went perfectly. Literally, it could not possibly have gone better. The producers from the Discovery Netw0rk came away totally psyched and impressed and they want to get to work putting together a project with me right away.

The really surprising thing is that they are interested in ME rather than just my show idea. I was worried that they would say that this is a great idea for a show, but that there are many other people who would be better choices to host it. It turned out to be the complete opposite. They were asking if I was ok with them trying to match me up with another TV show that has already been green-lit but is in need of a host.

Of course I said I would be willing to consider such a thing, even though it is not what I would prefer. It all comes down to the fact that I really need to line up another new stream of income, and having any TV show at all would pay me enough money to make it worth my while.

That said, they also really like my show idea and they think that it is extremely marketable right now. It has enough in common with other things that are succeeding on the air to make advertisers and network executives comfortable with it, yet original enough to grab people's attention right away.

They want to start getting stuff with me on camera right away so they can edit it into a video of me to show to network people and prospective production partners (these guys are executive producers who would be finding other people to actually go out with me and deal with the field production). They want to come to either my next weekend class or to my next workshop in NYC. I have to decide this weekend which it will be.

So then a really cool thing happened afterward. At Union station in DC, I ran into my friend Peter. Peter used to be in a huge, huge band that is a household name and he has won Grammies and so forth. He is also a good friend of my family's. He now does a ton of charity work, doing stuff behind the scenes with B0n0's 'One' charity and traveling to Africa with B0n0 regularly. He also works a lot with W1ll I @m and ghost-produces records and puts together charity concerts and that sort of thing.

Peter and I ended up riding the whole way home together on the same train, drinking steadily in the cafe car. He said that if I decide to have them film me at the NYC workshop, he can get the place packed with various of his celebrity friends. Which will obviously fucking blow the Discovery people away when they show up with their cameras and possibly be the deciding factor that makes them green light me for the show that I want to do.

Then we started talking about evolutionary biology and space exploration and the likely evolutionary future of humans. And somehow we connected this to the band from Mali that Peter had crashing in his living room, which was butchering goats in his front yard, and my classes and the deer that we dissect and the evolutionary history of those deer and how that relates to humans becoming more homosexual. And this conversation went on for hours, and suddenly we looked up and realized that the entire fucking dining car was totally silent and everyone was sitting there facing us and listening in rapt attention. Like we were putting on this show for all the Amtrak passengers and had no idea.

The whole trip was fucking fantastic. I had an hour and a half to kill after lunch and I walked up to the Capitol building for the first time since I was about 11 years old and sat on the steps.

Its all great. Presently I have 3 problems to sort through:

1. I need to squeeze out some supplementary sources of income to get us comfortably through the next 2 weeks until my weekend class happens and I get paid for it.

2. The lady who is supposed to be providing a deer for that class to work on is not returning my phone calls or emails. Not good.

3. I still need a fucking blowjob.


There is a downside to getting my own TV show. I have been warned by the producers that a production schedule for a show like this can really be grueling, working 12-14 hour days for weeks on end. Traveling constantly and having long stretches where I don't see Trish or the kids.

Also, if the show happens then I will have to shut down or lock this account on Diaryland before the first episode airs. I think that I'm kind of about to become a B-list celebrity and I can't afford to take the risk of someone poking around here, realizing who I am and sending the link to Perez H1lton or whatever.

12:36 p.m. - 2010-04-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far