cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bluegill

That lake I fished yesterday has been gnawing at me. I found this inlet full of huge bedded bluegill and I was only able to hook one. I could see them right there but they weren't going for anything. I thought about it last night and today and I realized that what I need to do is use a lure that will piss them off. They aren't eating when they are guarding their spawning depressions like that. But I did see them aggressively chasing other fish away.

A swim bait with treble hooks on either end could work. So it looks like another fish come to poach on its patch. The bluegill will chasse it and bite at it aggressively. Also, I could try a little round thing that looks like a pebble and drop it on the hook to the bottom of the bowl. Bluegill keep their nests clean and eventually it will suck the 'pebble' into its mouth in order to move it away.

The problem is that I won't have a free weekend for 3-4 weeks. I want to get back there sooner than that. Maybe I can come in to work early tomorrow and leave an hour early to go fishing. Its a bit of a drive to get to this particular lake, but now the situation is turning into a puzzle that I can't walk away from.

My situation with Mary is turning into a really comfortable dramatic element that I am enjoying. I like the idea of us just secretly having this un-acted-on crush on each other indefinitely. Where every now and then one of us privately acknowledges it to the other, like what happened on Saturday night when she showed me her diary. It can just be a thing that is there and makes life interesting. I really don't want to fuck things up between her and her husband.

1:44 p.m. - 2010-05-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far