cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Career Opportunities

My long-time means of accessing Diaryland at work (for some reason it won't load, even though we have no filtering software) is suddenly defunct. I'd been doing it through a Citrix client that I use and now that isn't working.

Everything seems to be settling out well for my class this weekend. The deer thing is all set and tuition payments have been trickling in for the last 24 hours. I've got plenty of money to cover the expenses before the class. Van rental, catering, etc. So long as Trish really does have the catering situation in hand (which is tricky because of the dietary restrictions of most of this group), then we're fine.

Discovery is coming down to film in early June instead of this weekend. Which is kind of annoying because I wanted it done fast so we can move ahead with the show before anyone loses their enthusiasm.

Today I was looking at the fees for various people as public speakers and it is amazing what that shit pays. I am so ready to start doing that. I could easily put together 30 minute, 45 minute and 1 hour versions of a presentation to give as a paid speaker. Shit, this is already what I kind of do for the Slow Food events. A lot of people getting between $5-20k per gig are really not much higher profile than I am. Hell, I'd never even heard of most of them. If my TV show makes it to air for a season then I have no doubt that I could be making an extra $20-$50k a year doing paid speaking gigs. I searched through the databases by category and there really isn't anyone else available for speaking gigs who would be any kind of competition. Its not like being 1 of 500 former NFL players who are all listed as available.

Even without the show, I would have a good shot at getting into this. The books and accompanying publicity alone should allow me to break into doing paid appearances. The beauty of it is that it doesn't take much to make me really happy. I make so little right now that even if I only get 4 gigs a year at $5k each, that would make a major difference in my family's quality of life.

Next week I get to go back to New York for the weekend! I'll even have money for basic expenses this time. Food, Metro fare, etc.

__________________________________


I finally got around to fixing the front gate yesterday after work. I wanted to work on the fence as well but it got too dark and there wasn't much of a moon out. There is a fuck ton of mowing that needs to be done and I just need to accept the fact that I'm not going to have the time or equipment any time soon. My tractor is still fucking broken and I don't see myself having the money for parts until my book advance shows up. Maintaining 6 acres with a push mower and weed eater ain't gonna happen.

Something nice just occurred to me. I'm not sure that I have ever completely failed at trying to fix or build something. Whether it is small engine repair, carpentry, butchering, light gunsmithing, plumbing, wiring or whatever. I don't think I have ever gotten something like that going and found that I was unable to complete it for any reason other than budget. Often I have had to fall back and do some research for a day or two before coming back to it. But I always seem to get whatever it is working.

Trish is suddenly on the board of some tenn1s club. What the fuck?

My next class starts in 2 days. Have I mentioned how intense these are to put on? Saturday will be a lot of work and Sunday is even more so. On the second day of these things I am usually teaching and working from 8 am to 11pm, including clean up and so forth. I get one break on Sunday of about 45 minutes when we do lunch on our own. Aside from that it is about 11 or 12 hours of straight work. I always get so nervous beforehand. Afterward I'm exhausted and tremendously relieved.

I seem to be in demand for next weekend. I'm suddenly getting all sorts of emails from people asking me to meet up for a drink in NYC. This is nice. I wish I could say yes to everyone but I'm only there for 2 nights and I really need to save one for my sister, whom I'm staying with. Erin never really got back to me about meeting up, which sucks. I offered to put her on the list for the workshop and never got an answer. Bah. Seeing Erin was a priority for next weekend, among other things since she was such an important part of getting to where I am now. I would write all of these other photographers and reporters and random dipshits off to hang out with her on Saturday night.

I wrote this entry over the course of 2 days, on account of limited FB access. I spent this afternoon after work cutting brush and trying to fix the fence to the point where I can maybe keep Alice from getting out. More on that tomorrow, because it is suddenly a whole thing.

10:36 p.m. - 2010-05-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far