cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Success

What a tremendous relief. The weekend went perfectly. Absolutely perfectly. I worked my ass off, as did everyone else who helped me. And it paid off. All 10 of these students really had a very good time and learned a lot. They didn't want it to end. They kept saying that they wished there was going to be a third day of the course.

Getting F. involved as an instructor turned out to be an extremely good idea. His skinning skills were impressive and he did a good job of teaching. He turned out to have a very good understanding of deer anatomy. The fire-making demonstration impressed the hell out of everyone.

I have So. Much. Email. to write today and I just don't have the energy for a fraction of it. Also I'm kinda hung-over from all the wine at the end of the night, consumed on an empty stomach because I was too busy butchering the venison to be eating any of it. While the headache and weird stomach are gone, I know that I'm not at 100% cognitive performance and am thus wary of getting into a lot of business emails.

Every time I do one of these classes it is a huge pain in the ass to prepare and I get really nervous and swear that this will be the last one. Then it goes so well and everyone is so happy with it that I find myself agreeing to schedule another.

F. and Mary made an interesting offer last night. No, not *that* offer. Mary's parents have a few hundred acres about 45 minutes away from here with a big vacation house that sleeps 12. They hardly ever use it and it is essentially at Mary's disposal. She offered, subject to her parents' approval, to have us teach the next class there. There is so much space that we could measure out and build a proper shooting range with 2 stations. The students would all stay at the house, meaning we wouldn't have to be spending time and money on shuttling people in a van. I think that this could be fun. It would also take the pressure off of Trish, who wouldn't need to be driving the van and so forth. She could just stay home with the kids.

__________________________

Trish and Mary are going out for dinner tonight. Just the 2 of them. This is so weird for me. Having Mary, my first ever love interest of any consequence (starting at the age of 8) becoming best friends with Trish is fucking strange. I never could have predicted this.

After the butchering/cooking/wine-drinking wrapped up on Sunday night, Mary and I were sitting on the curb behind the place at around midnight, smoking cigarettes (no, I'm not really a smoker. Maybe 3 packs a year or so). We were both kinda sorta really drunk and Mary said something about Trish having told her that "its ok that you were in love with [Cellini] and its also ok if you still are." And it was sort of left out there, because Mary said that but didn't immediately follow it up with some statement that she is not in fact still in love with me.

All very weird, yet it wasn't at all awkward at the time. We were sitting there on the curb, close enough that we were touching, and we were very happy and it was all ok. This whole situation is turning very odd. I'm ok with it, and everyone else involved seems equally ok with it.

__________________________

The producers from D1scovery finally set a date to film what was supposed to be an audition reel but is quickly expanding into what is referred to in the industry as a 'taster.' They are coming down in about a month for one day of filming. I think that I can handle my end of the production pretty well. I asked F. to come and help out on the day, among other things because he would be really good on camera and has all kinds of neat primitive skills and I think there is some chance that they will be impressed enough with him that they try to plug him into a TV show as well. I still need to come up with 2 people to stand in as students and pick a professional chef to work with. Plus line up a kitchen that will be easy to film in.

Its not clear what I'm covering in terms of expenses versus them. I might need to come up with between $300-$400 for expenses, assuming that my 'students' and chef can be lined up for free.

My amended contract for my book deal is supposedly finished and the originals for my signature are in the mail right now. This has taken way too fucking long. Publishing moves at a snail's pace. On the other hand, I

__________________________

I leave for NYC the day after tomorrow. A bunch of random people I've never met asked me to meet them for drinks. They read my other blog or heard about me from one article or another. Normally I'd be up for that sort of thing but I'm only coming in for the weekend and I have other people I'd rather see. I'm meeting Metonym for dinner on Friday night and she won't let me pay for her. Saturday looks to be pretty full. I have my workshop to teach at noon and after its done I really need to go hang out with the dude who is cooking with me. We have a film project to discuss and he's not very chatty in email so I need to generally catch up with him. Then that evening my sister has a series of parties she's taking me around to. I don't know what's up with Sunday. I don't need to leave for the airport until around 3 pm. I really like walking around NYC with no particular destination and maybe I'll get some of that done.

8:19 p.m. - 2010-05-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far