cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Looking Up

Hooray for me: I fixed the washing machine last night. Sort of. I mean, it went from not working at all to washing clothes just fine.

The catch is that the problem was caused by a failure of the open lid detection switch. That's the thing that makes the machine stop running when the lid opens. It was damaged from heavy things being put on the lid and that was why the washer stopped working. So I took the machine apart to get at the switch and I basically hot-wired it to make the switch always be on. This means that the open lid detection no longer works and we mustn't try to open it while it is running. I could have fixed it for real, but I didn't have any replacement parts so I just did what I could with a couple of screwdrivers and a bit of wire.

I might take a stab at fixing the brakes on Trish's car on Memorial Day. I'll be busy on Saturday and Sunday, what with the dry run for the new class and teaching someone how to build a deer rifle in 2 days. If its a brake line rather than the master cylinder then I think I might be able to handle it myself, and a new line and some clamps or whatever should be pretty cheap and in stock at any auto parts store.

Someone sent me an email last night about an organization that is getting a very large grant to fund the recruitment of non-traditional people to become hunters (locavores, foodies, etc). They are asking if I want to be in the loop on this. Um, yes please. Pretty much I am the one guy out there who is already doing this work on a budget of nothing. Pay me a salary and cover some basic expenses and I can be training easily 40 or 50 people a month as deer hunters.

There was a package from that guy at Versus waiting for me when I got home today. A whole bunch of DVDs that they over-nighted to me. He really wants my feedback on the deer behavior DVD for some reason.

My agent sent me a short email from the NYC book expo yesterday saying that she had spent some time talking to my publishers and they want to see about having me do a whole series of books after this first one that they just bought. It is good to know that this is a real possibility, because the royalties I'm getting are actually kind of crap. They are giving me a really nice advance, but I know perfectly well that I'm not going to make much money beyond that advance on this book. So its good to have this offer of doing a whole series waiting in the wings, because that will keep me really motivated through the book launch and I'll consequently do better promotion and sell more books because I'll know that I'm essentially auditioning for the rest of a series that I can really make a living on.

2:37 p.m. - 2010-05-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far