cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Come on, people

[An entry I meant to post last week]

I am starting to regret this notion of doing a class at Mary's parents' place on the 150 acres. This is getting to be too many cooks in the kitchen. The costs of catering and so forth seem to be spiraling way too high, such that its looking like I would be making less money than before. Then there is the problem of having these people who feel like they are doing me a favor by letting me use the house and property, even though I'd be paying them $200. No favors. Favors are bad in business. When someone feels like they are doing me a favor, it becomes too easy to flake out and fail to do what was expected since after all it was a favor in the first place and what right do I have to complain.

Add to that the fact that Mary and F. will also feel like they are doing me a favor by having hooked me up with the place. Even though I'd be paying each of them around $500, they are going to feel like they are doing me a favor and they are going to expect a seat at the table in terms of overall management of the class and the weekend. Also, F. has gotten some retarded ideas into his head about rules that should be in place. Like forbidding students to bring alcohol or firearms. What the fuck? Its a class about how to hunt, shoot, butcher and cook deer. Half the class is learning to shoot rifles and we pair wine with the venison when we cook it. You can't forbid people bringing alcohol and firearms. That would defeat the whole purpose. The students are all adults here.

So I dunno. I'm feeling like maybe I should pull the plug on this whole thing. Maybe just try to do a class in July the same way that I always do. I need the money very, very badly so I've got to do something pretty fast.

Trish's car is still sitting in a field next to the driveway on account of having no brakes. I need about $400 at a minimum to get it working again. She is stuck at home right now out in the country with no means of running errands or going anywhere. The tub faucet is hopelessly fucked, leaks hot water constantly (about 5 gallons an hour, I'd figure.) and the pull-up shower thingie no longer works. I need at least $50 or more for a new unit, and it has to be a particular type to work with the retro-fitted shower pipe and head. I still have no idea why neither the hot or cold water are working on the bathroom sink.

Our oldest dog has suddenly started pissing herself every half hour or so. No other symptoms. This is something that just happens to older dogs. There is a medication that will give her bladder control again, but it is prescription-only and costs about $50. This means a trip to the vet, which will make the total cost of dealing with this at least $100 that I do not have. Meanwhile, the whole house is full of dog piss and its a serious problem.

I'm ready to fucking throttle the guy who was our guinea pig for the rifle class. The deal was that he'd get the course in exchange for taking photos the whole time and giving them to us to use for promotion. What actually ended up happening was that he hardly took any pictures. I did 98% of the photography using his camera, so there are literally only about 5 or 6 shots of me. I told him up front that part of the deal with the photos is that I desperately need something to send to my publisher as a promotional picture. They literally will not pay me my advance until I give them this photo. That is in my contract. Its been 4 days since the class and this asshole still hasn't sent me anything. I told him to please just grab the tiny handful that have me in them and send them right away. Nothing. Every fucking day that this idiot puts it off equals another day that I don't get my advance and another day that my family does not have working plumbing and my wife's car does not have working brakes.

I spent an hour after work yesterday driving around to various places that people swore held kudzu and all of them turned out to be some other vine. Fuck everything. Why does everyone fail me lately?

11:31 a.m. - 2010-06-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far