cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Show me the money

[Written on June 5th and I forgot to post until now]

I have decided that I despise the publishing industry and publishers in general. Never in my life have I encountered such an unprofessional, disorganized bunch of fuckwits masquereding as a business.

These people have owed me $10,000 for several months now and it is not clear why they have not provided it. Right now I literally cannot provide milk to my 3 year old because I do not have a penny. I have shit nothing and am flat broke. I blame this publisher for that fact.

Here they are talking about having me do a whole series after this book. Its ridiculous. If this sells well enough that they want me to go ahead with the series, we won't be doing things the way they were done this time. What I will require is that once a price is agreed on, I visit the publisher's offices personally. The contract will be signed by all parties immediately without any of this retarded delay and confusion and shit going back and forth in the mail. I will have a completed an author's questionnaire as required by the contract in hand for them at this meeting and they will give me a check, in person, immediately following the signing of the contract.

If they are not willing to do this, then I will walk away. I'll either find another publisher who is willing to agree to do business like a grown up company or I will leave the industry altogether. There is no point to any of this shit unless the publisher is actually going to pay the money that the contract states they must pay.

______________________

Schopenhauer was wrong, I think. Life can be worth living nearly every day if only can arrange our lives such that we may sleep in. There is nothing more consistently pleasant than waking up halfway, finding that one is very comfortable in bed, and drifting straight back to sleep without any cares for missing an appointment or being late for work.

I am very sleepy right now, as I have been for days. I can not seem to get enough sleep lately. Every fucking day there is some stupid shit I have to do first thing in the morning. Weekday, weekend, whatever. There is no difference. Every day is work; only the nature and location of that work are really subject to change.

We need food and gas money very badly. I have nothing. Absolutely nothing. My grandfather is dying right now and I want to get on a plane to Boston to see him one last time. I have the frequent flier miles to get there but I have not a dime to rent a car and get to the hospital, let alone cover meals or other expenses. Even if I did come up with that, I can't very leave leave Trish and the kids right now without two dimes to rub together. If I could scrape up 3 or 4 hundred dollars I think I could pull it off. But I've just got nothing. No money. I don't even have the $10 fee to redeem the miles.

I'm just kind of fucked here.

11:33 a.m. - 2010-06-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far