cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Radio Free Me

Useless though I felt yesterday, I think that I really did get quite a lot done.

First, I finally managed to get in touch with an executive at the large non-profit that I need help from in finding a qualified person to co-teach this new workshop in Brooklyn this summer. This is a very important thing to me because I have so many alumni in NYC who are sitting there waiting for me to help them take the next step.

Then I went into the studio to record my first commentary for NPR. That went well. I think I could do better in the future but the take that we are using was pretty good. The problem is that one needs to slow down too much. I have to speak more slowly than I normally would, which means that the whole cadence of my delivery changes. When people have to do this without a lot of practice it is easy for the voice to become somewhat monotone.

After recording I went out to my parents' place and killed an hour by fishing and doing a bit of squirrel hunting (since we are having a short 2 week season right now). I got neither fish nor squirrels but did end up covered in ticks.

At around 7:30 everyone started to show up for the kud zu event that I put together. This is an unrelated thing being produced for NPR. The evening went very well. Ku dzu pesto was especially good. I think its going to air some time next week. Unfortunately there is no telling exactly, because they are covering all oil spill shit all the time and suddenly don't have as much room on All Things C0nsidered for this sort of thing as they usually do. Even then, it will still be on a whole bunch of local stations.

I came up with the awesome idea of having Terry, an organic farmer who was with us for the event, show up at the farmer's market this weekend with pre-packaged bags of k udzu for sale. He's totally doing it. He's going to price it exactly the same as his other organic butter lettuce and shit. We're going to have someone off in the background discreetly holding a video camera to capture what happens when people encounter this. I predict that it will sell out. This will also be incorporated into the NPR story.

This was indeed slow food and I didn't get home until quarter past midnight. Now I am completely exhausted. I'm supposed to take my 3 year old camping in our meadow after work today. Hopefully he will fall asleep in the tent on the early side.

Right now I am facing a flooded in-box of email. Mostly stuff related to classes and I don't feel like reading any of it although clearly I need to.

Now what? I spent weeks trying to make last night's event happen and now its over. The commentary for NPR is in the can. Ditto the interview for Versus. Ok, here's the game plan:

- Get the next deer class sorted out ASA-fucking-P.

- Fill the vacant spot in this month's r1fle-building class

- Nail down the speaker for the Brooklyn event and secure a venue for it.

- Re-read and edit the deer book.

- Write the 2 chapters that are still missing.

- Get a blowjob. For the love of all that is holy, get a blowjob.

- Figure out how to teach a workshop for Sl0w Food DC. The missing component there is venison to work with. I am completely out of deer meat. I would need a hind quarter and a back strap to bring or else its no fun for anyone. Right now it is not deer season and I don't have money to buy a deer from a farm.

My life lacks sufficient females at the moment. Everything I've been doing recently has been one big sausage party. That chick, Emma, friended me on FB last night. The one I hung out with in NYC last month. She would be fun to have around.

I just don't get what I'm doing wrong. All this work and I still am not getting paid for it. I'm still not making a living. I spin my wheels and make all of this stuff happen and people talk about how inspired they are and I get all of this great press but somehow I'm still not getting paid a fucking thing. WHERE THE HELL IS THE BOOK ADVANCE THAT I AM OWED? And at the same time, I am just totally alone in all of this. I am desperate to have a woman around. Trish is not really present. She doesn't participate in most of these things that I do and doesn't seem to much care about any of it. She is also completely unaffectionate and shows little interest in spending time with me. I come home and she retreats somewhere with her laptop for the evening. Day after day. Never in the same room as me. She's a roommate, not a spouse.

This whole thing that I'm doing has become slightly monastic. It is kind of a movement that I'm leading or fomenting at this point. I go and do things and put on these events and people come and and they praise what I'm doing but everything is sort of at arm's length. Is alienation inherent to leadership?

I am listening to 'Sunset (The Death of Thumbelina), by Current 93. Its right there on Youtube for anyone who cares to hear it. This whole album is very comfortable to me. Among other things, when I picked it up I was relieve to find that I was able to establish a personal relationship with another Current 93 album after all these years. It wasn't just an artifact of college and being of a certain age.

5:01 p.m. - 2010-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far