cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Floating Office

Right. Pulling my shit together somewhat more today.

I emailed the dude that the NSSF people recommended to see if he is willing to speak at the event I'm supposed to put together in NYC this summer. Then I followed up with that reporter so he can have his article done for the Sunday paper.

Right now I am so burned out that its hard to get much done or focus at all. Probably it doesn't help that I haven't had my ADD medication in about 2 weeks. When my check from my publisher comes then I'll get a refill. I need a few days off at home.

There's a big-ish blog that is running a story on the new classes in the next week or so. And that HBO thing is supposed to run soon. Between all of these things I should have a nice little media bump coming soon and it would probably be smart for me to have something to sell when these things are all happening.

I want a day to do yard work and maintinence, a day to play with the kids, and a day alone in the house to write.

Society cannot support but so many people who sit in a comfortable chair and write for a living. I find myself asking often whether I am entitled to be one of them.

I daydream in the car on my way home about my ideal writing set-up. I hate this desk at work and I blame it in part for the failure of my tendons in both elbows to fully heal. The ergonomics are just shit. I want an office with 2 desks. One to stand at and the other to sit. Room on the floor to stop every few hours and do some calisthenics.

My ideal would be to get an old cabin cruiser and set it up as an office. Find some local lake or even a pond where I can moor it and commute every day to my boat for work. I could get something suitable for as little as a few thousand dollars. In fact, if we weren't in such dire financial straits right now then that is what I would consider doing with the $5k inheritance that I am supposed to get soon. It doesn't have to be especially sea-worthy. I don't even need a pair of working engines. Just a hull, a cabin in decent shape, a good electrical system and a generator. All it needs to do is sit at the dock and float.

3:59 p.m. - 2010-06-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far