cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nuts and Bolts

I went out to buy an inflatable boat and somehow came home with a new car stereo, speakers and instrument cluster instead. There is good reason for this, that being that my CD changer died and it would really suck to do all of these road trips with nothing but the radio.

For the first time ever, I failed at installing a car stereo. In all fairness this was not a simple swap of head units. Long story short, the thing doesn't turn on and I have to take it all apart again to see what is wrong.

I also kind of fixed the air conditioning. Its working at maybe 40%, which is an improvement from the 0% it had been at. I might need to replace the compressor. It probably just needs more freon but I'm kind of paranoid about over-pressurizing the system.

The first of my 2 video cameras is on the way. I need to get a full-height tripod.

Hey, I just got a random email from someone asking to sign up for a class and he said he heard about me on TV. This dude is 200 miles away. I looked into it and someone this local news station in a large-ish city managed to put together a whole story about our new class without ever actually speaking to myself or Paul. What the fuck? On their website they have a story up with some stock photo of a bearded dip-shit in full camo and people are going to think this guy is me. Not that I'm complaining, since the coverage is all positive and has resulted in people asking to give money to me.

I don't make a ton of money off of the r1fle-building classes, but if I do 2 of them a month then that covers our health insurance premiums with change left over. Our profit will go up somewhat after a few more classes as we pay for some of the specialized tools we had to buy in order to do this. I make about $300 with 2 students in a 2 day class. That is not a whole lot of money for 2 days of skilled labor, but on the other hand I have fun doing it. We might get our profits up to as much as $400 for each of us after things settle out.

Today I'm playing old blue beat, ska and rocksteady songs non-stop. Youtube is full of them. Desmond Dekker, Prince Buster, Higgs & Wilson.

There's a woman who wrote a regular column for Nerve years and years ago and I was always a big fan of her stuff. I found her on FB a few weeks ago and friended her randomly. She's started regularly commenting on my posts there, which is kind of flattering since she has over 600 friends on FB and plenty of stuff to weed through. We have some private communication as well. She's a good writer, has a sordid past, hot, and is at least 15 years older than me so naturally I'm smitten. We're essentially circling each other with cautiously wagging tails and sniffing each other's butts right now. She's written a bunch of books that I need to catch up on.

Its really neat to be in communication with this chick and find that we are on some kind of equal footing. I mean in the sense that I'm now a quit-his-day-job professional writer who makes these weird cultural events happen. When I started reading Lisa's stuff back in 1999 or 2000 she was on this whole other level from me. This is the first time I've ever had the opportunity to befriend a writer whom I am/was a fan of. Its a neat feeling.

3:53 p.m. - 2010-07-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far