cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More TV Bullshit

I kept writing an entry in an email draft day after day and kept forgetting to actually post. So this is 3 days worth of stuff at once. New TV offers, a newspaper interview (or not?) and various other stuff.

Wednesday

Yet another production company wants to make a TV show with me. I just spent 30 minutes on the phone with some dude who says he was asked by Anim@l Pl@net to develop something with me. Huh. We'll see. These guys all talk a big game but never seem ready to commit a budget. I'm not signing any talent holding agreement until I see a serious budget and schedule. I told him I'd send him some video of the crazy shit that F. and I got into over the weekend and he can look at it for a sizzler reel or whatever.

Trish is sleeping over at Mary's place tonight. Its Mary's birthday. Have I mentioned how fucking weird this all is for me? Mary, my first romantic interest whom I go back with to the age of 8. The girl who pursued me for 4 or 5 years is now best friends with my wife. And to make things even weirder, I ought to point out that Trish's personal history with close female friends has generally involved her having sex with them sooner or later.

This means that I have the kids alone tonight. Which would be fine except that I have the final draft of a book due in 9 days and Trish keeps taking days and evenings away from me when I need to be writing, editing, researching and fact-checking.

I really fucking hope that I don't miss that deadline. That would be terrible. Really I need to be a day ahead of it, since the 31st is my birthday and people have plans for me that don't include my sitting in front of a laptop and a stack of books all day and night.

Someone needs to give me a damn TV show already. Clearly this is what I'm good at and what I should be doing. Just give me a show, it will be awesome, people will watch it and I'll get paid and we'll all be happy.

_______________________

Thursday Morning

Trish came home at about 7:30 am this morning. I still don't know what she and Mary got up to last night.

I have to figure out how to use the DVD burner on my laptop that I've never used before. I'm sending a bunch of video to these 2 production companies that are more or less vying to produce a show with me. I have a r1fle building class to teach this weekend and I think I'll film some of that as well, just in case it comes in handy for something. This Fl1p Mino camcorder was definitely one of the smartest things I've bought in ages. I need to get another one and a tripod.

The kids and I watched Spiderman 3 last night. What piss-poor writing that was. A total fucking mess with implausible character motivations and behaviors and thinly stretched plot. It made no sense for MJ to allow herself to be threatened by Harry to leave Peter, when she knows perfectly well that her boyfriend is fucking Spiderman and can kick his ass. There were some nice ideas in there but altogether the movie was a stinking heap of crap that suffered from writers who clearly did not give a shit. It sucks, because it wouldn't be hard to write it so that it would actually make some sense and still have all of the cool fights and special effects. Just make an attempt at giving a shit.

Speaking of giving a shit, I don't. At work anyway. I want out of here.

I want to get some more stuff on video for my 'sizzler reel' to give to producers. I don't know what I can really get in the near future, but I definitely need to be building up a good archive of this shit. I should have worn something better than the shapeless old t shirt I had on for the butchering on Saturday, because I look retarded on camera there. I deliberately wore crappy clothes because I knew they were going to get all blood-spattered. Should have gone with safari wear.

Its proving to be really hard to stay focused on all of these things at once. Writing, TV stuff, and getting this consulting business off the ground.

Harry was having trouble getting his bike to work properly yesterday and he said to me, "there's a villain in my bike!"

_______________________

Friday


Yesterday I think I did an interview with the Chicago Tr1bune. Which is to say that I had a very long conversation with a reporter from the Tribune in which she asked me many questions and took notes, but it wasn't clear to me whether she is doing a story on me or wanted to talk to me on background in order to prepare to do a story on something else closer to Chicago (I am on the East coast).

I burned a couple of DVDs of last weekend's shenanigans to mail out to these two production companies today but I just realized that I left one of them in the DVD drive of my laptop at home. Oops. This new company out of NYC that I have been talking to is pretty gung ho. They want me to give them exclusivity through the end of the summer and are talking the usual blah blah blah about setting up a shoot somewhere right away. I should probably run this by my agent at some point.

The book work is coming along really well. I wrote a whole extra chapter on shot placement yesterday evening. I didn't intend to; I started typing and it just sort of happened.

Ida has a friend sleeping over tonight. Bah. Its such a small house for that. I need to be butchering meat tonight and I don't see that happening with the chaos that will inevitably result. At least I'll miss a lot of it by staying late in the office to work on the book.

9:52 a.m. - 2010-07-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far