cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"Make up Your Mind...\"

Work on the book is going really fast, when I have the time to do it. I've got Friday off from work and I can make a final push to get it done with the final polish by that evening.

I've stopped even pretending to do anything at work except for training people, taking phone calls and answering questions. A bunch of people are asking to sign up for the small game hunting and cooking classes that I'm looking to teach in September. I want to start scheduling them but I need hours to pour over regulations for different parcels of public land and review maps and figure out exactly when and where to take people.

This guiding thing is tough to figure out. On the face of it, it looks good. A couple of people give me $200 to take them hunting for the day. However, there is more to it than that. I'll have to scout the locations out in the days before the hunt, which means a lot of driving. So its not really $200 a day. More like $200 for 3 days of skilled work, which is pretty shitty money right there.

I'll need to buy a better first aid kit.

What happens if we just don't see any squirrels or doves? What if the clients get bored out there? Being a hunting guide is a lot more than just taking some people hunting. I'd have to be the guide, instructor, ecology teacher, anatomist, story-teller, cook, shooting coach, etc.

I need to be writing. I got 2 recipes written out today but I have plenty more work to do. Right now I seem to be trying to do anything except for writing. Oddly enough, at the moment I am avoiding writing by writing. These words.

There are 2 emails from a TV producer that I am foolishly avoiding reading. I'm playing a bit of hardball and wish I didn't need to. Producer A is really great to work with and knows a ton of people at Discovery to pitch shows to, but has hardly done shit in the last 3 months and the project is getting stale. Producer B is from a tiny company that only has a few slightly successful shows to their credit and they dick around with independent short films too much. But he is incredibly gung-ho and wants to start filming with me ASAP. Producer B wants to invest a lot of time and effort and thus wants me to sign a contract giving him exclusivity for a few months.

Tough decision.

Ok, I gave in and read his emails. All 4 of them. 'Blah blah blah please work with us, we'll send you some paperwork on Monday.' I like this guy and his partner, but he has a huge documentary he has been working on for the last 4 years that is in the final stages of getting finished right now. I'm worried that my project is not going to get his serious attention any time soon.

As Kool Keith once asked: "make up your mind, who you want to pump the butt?"

It is all an endless hard hustle. Classes, books, TV deals.

5:00 p.m. - 2010-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far