cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Own DVD Series?

I just got an email from a totally different producer of a hunting show on the Vs. network. I did an interview for his show a few months ago and he says its going to air this weekend. They make and sell DVDs as well. He just asked me to do a DVD with them. This sounds good to me. Even though I'd get less money this way, I suggested to him that we co-brand it with the deer book. The reason I'd get less money is that my publisher is entitled to the rights to any DVDs directly co-branded with the book, so I'd be getting the royalties specified in my book contract rather than the higher royalties that I could get by negotiating something directly with this production company. But I don't want to be short-sighted. Its more important in the long run to build my brand, which means that I should tie the DVD in with the book.

This is all separate from the other TV show stuff. Any exclusivity agreement that I sign for TV show development rights will exclude a project like this.

The more I think about it, I doubt that I will make jack shit off of this DVD. Maybe a few thousand bucks that would trickle in over the next few years, since I'll only get something like 6%. But if it sells ok then I can do more DVDs that my publisher has no rights to and I can be looking at more like 15% or better.

I'm feeling very indecisive about whether or not to pull the trigger and line up these guiding gigs for September. I *should* be using that time to take trips for the new book, but Trish has pissed away all of the money that was left from the first half of my book advance that was supposed to cover those. Also I will probably need to be filming stuff with one of these 2 TV show producers for the sizzler reel.

However, I have to make ends meet. I need to come up with $1,000 of extra income in September beyond the stock purchase payment I'll be getting. I have to assume that it will take fucking forever for the rest of my book advance to show up and there is no telling how long it will be for my small inheritance to appear. My assumption needs to be that I have to hustle for extra income through September and October before this other money starts showing up.

Teaching and guiding are the only things I can think of that will produce income right away. DVDs, TV shows, the new book, magazine articles. All of that is well and good but it takes forever to get paid for any of it.

Maybe I can manage to get my first stock purchase check at the same time as my final paycheck. That would sort things out nicely.

11:01 a.m. - 2010-07-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far