cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Manuscript, Finished!

The deer book is finished and handed in. I wanted more recipes but I ran out of time. Oh well, not going to worry about it unless my editor asks for more.

That spot on my left leg, just below my knee, where I accidentally stabbed myself on camera last December. It hurts. When it happened, the wound went literally down to the bone. It healed up with a fine dark scar for my troubles. Suddenly I'm having a strange phantom pain there.

I seem to be in the office. At work. What the fuck? What am I still doing here? I can't believe I have an entire fucking month of this left before I'm free.

Right now I'm suddenly in a lot of demand for September. I think I'll have all the business that I want for that month in terms of teaching and guiding.

In the haze between sleep and wakefulness, inspired by fragments of a dream, I conceived of a book to write while I'm waiting for my day job to finally end. I could knock this shit out pretty quick, although I don't know that there is any market for it. I have a whole collection of books which are themselves collections of miscellany. This is a type of book that doesn't seem to exist any more. They were very popular between around 1870-1960. You would have a chapter explaining something like the Bessemer steel process, and then a short biography of some Spanish explorer, instructions on how to build a lean-to, a recipe for muffins, etc. I always loved reading these things.

It would be great fun to write this. I have no idea what the hell I'd do with it when it was done. I doubt that anyone would publish it.

My piece that I wrote about how to get rid of a body could be used. Then maybe a chapter about 'incorruptible' bodies throughout history. How to cast useful objects out of aluminum. Phantom limbs. A history of phrenology. Dinosaurs with feathers. Making your own butter. Rotary engines. Keeping crickets as pets. The founding of the Boy Scouts. Slavery in ancient Rome. The sun will eventually go supernova.

Meanwhile, I just emailed a woman who wrote a book about inv@sive reptiles in Florida to ask her for help with finding people to help me out on arrival there. I hope that she can give me some direction or better yet personally meet up with me to guide me to some iguanas to e@t. I need action, action, action. The deer book was just handed in yesterday but I'm terrified of atrophying. I mustn't get soft or lazy.

Trish is trying to get me to commit to go to some art show that F's step-father has in rural PA in mid-September. Man, I dunno. I'd be up for it except that September is going to be a really, really important and busy month for me. Its the month that I launch my career as a full-time gonzo hunter, writer and teacher. Money might also be a little tight so not only should I be spending that weekend guiding for money but I should definitely not be taking a trip to PA to stay at a B&B and shit. No question, this trip would cost me at least $500 that I can't afford.

1:56 p.m. - 2010-08-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far