cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More Travel

The Florida trip plan is really coming together now. I've got a professional hunter to meet up with and work with. Meanwhile Bob said that he knows a farmer in GA with a serious feral h0g problem, plus a rancher in TX in the same boat. These are guys he knows from some online r1fle hobbyist forum. Today he started talking to each of them about arranging for me to come down for a few days to hunt pigs for the new book.

I hadn't figured on going to Texas for this book, but I'm game. I've only ever been there once before and that didn't really count, since I just flew into Houston for a few days on business. Going back to Georgia would be nice. Aside from flying in and out of Atlanta a million times, I haven't been back to GA since doing a lot of hiking there in Outward Bound many years ago.

When I first started planning this book I thought I'd be doing a lot of flying. As it turns out I'm going to be driving for most of the initial trips. I have a bunch of reasons for this. First, I have the time for it since my day job is finished in 3 weeks. I hadn't figured on that sort of good fortune. Second, I want to get to know more of the country. I want to drive around on weird little back roads and eat strange regional food and stop to see things along the way. Third, bringing firearms on airplanes is a pain in the ass. All kinds of crap to deal with and extra fees and so forth.

10:11 p.m. - 2010-08-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far