cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My TV Contract Came!

Today I had a conference call with my producers. They are going out of their way to assure me of their commitment to the project. This is what I want to hear. They have a new show (Bl00d D0lph1ns) that they just made which is about to premier on An1mal Pl@net and they've been busy with that. The people at AP are really pleased with the dolphin show and want to see a full proposal for my show from them.

A few minutes ago I got the contract, treatment, and general proposal from them. I haven't read it yet. Embarrassingly, I'm too nervous.

The p1g hunt in Georgia is all set. That farmer is totally gung-ho and I can pretty much show up whenever I want to. Probably I'll do that one in October, but possibly in September.

FUCK. I just realized I forgot to call my iguana guy back. This is embarrassing. I lost most of the day today because I had to take my grandmother to the doctor on short notice. That story is longer than it is interesting.

I want to go fishing tomorrow. I think I'll leave work early. I also need to stop by a huge arts and crafts store to buy some supplies for a weird art project that I'm working on.

Getting our new health insurance secured before August 31st is proving to be a major pain in the ass. I'm getting a little bit worried. The application process has become interminable. They are asking me for specific dates and dosages of medication for a medical procedure that took place when I was in infant. How the fuck could I possibly know the answers to any of this? They are demanding the phone number of one of the doctors and the guy has been dead for over 10 years.

I'm bored. As a general thing this week. I want out of this stupid fucking job NOW. I want to be writing, teaching and getting stuff on film for my reel.

Trish has been shrieking all night. About one thing after another with the kids or something. She needs to shut the fuck up. Constantly overreacting to every little thing they do. Christ, what an insufferable bitch she is right now. Literally, she's is screaming at the top of her lungs every 5 minutes. I wish I could just walk out the door and go somewhere else.

Right now I'm trying to buy a pop-up camper to tow around on the trips I have to make for the new book. Probably it will need some work and renovation, since I don't have much to spend. But once I have this thing (if it works out), it will be nice to have a little building to run to. Air conditioned, with electricity, a sink, a little table and chairs and 2 beds. It would be so nice to walk out the door into a hide-away like that right now.

You know who I've told about the TV contract? Nobody. I don't usually bother to even mention this shit to Trish any more. She never has anything nice to say and offers no advice or ideas. I don't talk to anyone about any of this any more. The books, the TV appearances, the newspaper articles. I write about some of it here but there isn't anyone to talk to about any of it. Erin seemed cross with me for paying her for advising me on the first book deal, so I don't even talk to her about it now.

F. can be good about this sort of thing. He has no experience with any of it, but he is capable of being simply and honestly happy that someone has had a stroke of good luck, or rather has reaped the fruit of a lot of hard work. Without a trace of jealousy. I'm considering setting him up with a different producer who had wanted to work with me but I turned them down on account of having these other guys that I'd promised to work with. F. could be very good on TV in his own right. I've already got him writing a book as well.

When I see Peter, I can talk freely with him of these things. That's only about once a month lately. He's been through the whole thing himself and he understands. Became suddenly famous, on the cover of Rolling Stone and all of that shit. Then he just walked away from it all and does all right on a combination of song royalties, ghost production of albums and consulting. When we get together we don't even talk about this stuff all that much. We talk about raccoons and owls and the evolution of language and the direction of civilization and it is nice just to know that this other person understands exactly what is going on and how frail and confusing it all is.

10:47 p.m. - 2010-08-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far