cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Geese and Stuff

Dammit, M@rk Bittm@n can't make it for my goose thing in October. He's really interested in the whole thing but he's going to be filming a TV show or something and won't be in the city. I still give myself extra points for having the nerve to ask.

My people at Sl0w F00d are finally starting to really work on making this event happen. Talk about some serious pressure for me to bag a bunch of geese next month. Now I need to find another chef to work with. I have really great, talented people who I could work with but in this case I want to step things up a notch. I want either a very well-known food writer or a celebrity chef for this. Someone who can help to draw publicity and fill up the room. I want to end up with material that I can use for the new book. Ideally this would be someone who is comfortable with public speaking so that they can co-present with me and I don't have to stand there and talk for 3 hours all by myself for once.

This will be a really magnificent event if I can pull it off just right. I want this to be the event that moves me up another level in the NYC (and thus international) food scene. I've proven my mettle doing the venison events for Sl0w F00d this past spring. Its time to take that credibility and really build on it. If I can get someone of real stature to do this event with me in October, someone with a name that will get it written up in a bunch of different food publications, I think that my career will get another nice shot in the arm.

Apparently there is some slight chance of me getting @nthony B0urdain for this. He would be fun to work with.

Last Friday evening I was asked by a local bookstore to do a reading and some type of food thing. I'm thinking that if I get enough 1guanas on this FL trip then I could do a Carolina-style 1guana barbecue thing. Pulled-pig, only with lizards instead of swine. I can do a reading from the chapter on that species, a question and answer thing, and then everyone eats some lizards. It would be fun and would certain get some press.

_________________

Last night I dreamed about reading a book that I had written. I was aware of the fact that I was dreaming and I wanted to remember as much of the book as possible for when I wake up. The page or so that I read very carefully to this end was mostly pretty good material. It was fiction, which I don't often write.

It took real effort and concentration to make it read like anything sensible. A few paragraphs veered off from the story of driving somewhere into random weirdness. So often when I read something in a dream it is just a delicious stream of random words. Like this:

"Within the intensified strata of lunar incendiary verlour parlours there were soft purple luminescent storphyx inside inside wetoraxyn sophistary moonlight snipful inside out incisors. Rippling strophyx stromating hierophant delphic oriental outside sandwich boxen. I rolled down the window, inhaled moon colors and purple rippling soft stars."

When I read this sort of thing in dreams I see the words in black type on the pages. Its not just the idea of the words popping into my head. My brain is creating the visual image and then doing the rest. While I was aware of the fact that I was writing this and creating the words that I saw, I simultaneously had the experience of reading them as fresh information. It was lovely.

I took one of my precious few remaining tramadol pills on account of terrible pain in my right elbow. It made me fall asleep very quickly and have vivid dreams. Even now I still feel a trace of opiod glow throughout my mind and body. I'm listened to material from 'Trip Reset' by Psychic TV while I write this.

Later in the same dream I deliberately created situations, knowing that I was dreaming. I decided to make a forest around me. I decided to be camping in it. Then many of my friends were there. We had a big fire going and it was night and a good time. I made a future for myself with a house that rose in that very spot. It was 20 years in the future and I was in the house watching something in television about myself. They referred to me as a writer, architect and photographer. Indeed I had designed the house that I was in. I won't bother to describe it here in detail but it was really a wonderful place to be, with a mixture of very comfortable small spaces with low ceilings and a soaring open space that rose 3 levels. There were framed photographs on the walls, many in series, that I had taken.

I created the plot of a story in which I inhabited someone who was escaping from prison. The main character arranged to have prisoners in another nearby prison to start a major riot so that guards would be sent over from his prison to help. Thus his own escape was simpler and unobserved. He/I walked to a crowded beach at nearby bay and cut off his jeans to make shorts. An unattended boogie board was appropriated and I paddled out into the water and kicked my way across the calm waters of the bay towards the city on the other side.

_______________

I was asked today by a group of NYC alumni of my classes to come up to NY for a few days in October to guide them on a hunt. This is definitely something that I want to do. They will be paying me, too. As busy as September is turning out to be, it looks like October will be just as much so. And here I thought I was going to be taking it easy after quitting my day job. I've got a r1fle building class on Halloween weekend. A trip to GA to hunt wild boar and probably something in Ch1cago as well. Shit, I have a pig hunt at the beach close to home as well. I forgot about that. Plus the Sl0w Food thing with the geese. I wonder what November will be like? I'm trying to keep it clear of travel as much as possible, because I need to get about a third of the new book written that month so that my agent can start shopping it by the first week of December.

3:21 p.m. - 2010-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far