cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh You Old Thing

I have been informed by several people that this thing at the French Cul1nary Institute is sort of a big deal. And that I had really, definitely, absolutely better get a big deal chef to cook for this thing. Uh. Not sure where to start here. I kind of want B0bby Fl@y but I have no idea what to do about it.

Listening to 'Oh You, Old Thing,' by Wolf Parade. Again and again. I'm a sucker for a Fad Gadget styled synth hook.

Seriously, what the fuck am I going to do about this chef situation? I need one in Florida next month as well. My guy who is supposed to be really good at lining this stuff up has been MIA and I don't understand why.

This week I've been clearing out my desk area bit by bit. A few things gone or boxed up every day. Bit by bit I am deliberately de-personalizing my workspace. So that when my last day rolls around (only 8 work days left!) there will be nothing left of me here. I will simply stand up and shoulder my backpack and walk out the door. There will be no awkward packing up of things. Just leaving an empty desk and a re-formatted hard drive on my former computer.

I really like the song 'Punk Rock Girl,' by the Dead Milkmen.

Its a strange life that I'm choosing right now. Isn't it?

I'm back into this sort of surfing mode like late last fall when I was keeping 3 different balls in the air because the TV people were psyched that I had media coverage and the book people were psyched about the TV interest and the media people were interested in the book and TV stuff and then I used all of that hype to get book to do Sl0w Food events and those events got the book people and the TV people all the more worked up. It was all one big circle where so long as I had all of these balls up in the air it was only a matter of time before one of these people threw some money at me, which of course finally happened.

That's what I'm setting up to happen again over the next 4 months. My whole schedule is designed to create a feeding frenzy of repeated boomlets that result in a publisher throwing $50k or so at me for the new book and hopefully Anim@l Planet deciding I'm the next big thing and that they'd better give me this show right away.

______________________

I just finished a long phone call with my producer. I have been instructed to watch a show called 'R1ver Monsters,' which he says that the people at AP are over the moon about right now. We're waiting on the NYC trip because he thinks that when they ask for some tape they will want to see me in action rather than just some monologue in a studio. Feh. I wanted to go to up to the city next week.

I'm hungry and I want a blow job.

4:30 p.m. - 2010-08-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far