cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Deleting Everything

Yesterday I bought some new clothes for my post-desk life. Then I went home and threw away a bunch of stupid 'casual office' clothes that I always really hated.

Folks, I look really fucking hot lately. Just saying.

This is my last Wednesday of working here. And whoa - I only have 4 more work days. Wow. Today I completely cleared out the hard drive on this computer. Nothing personal remains except for my desktop background. I deleted all of my bookmarks in Firefox except for those that might be helpful to someone doing this job some day. All that remains is to clear all private data in the browser and I'm set. There is still some stuff in desk drawers that needs to be cleared out, along with my framed pictures and the gong on my desk.

Today is my brother's last day at his job.

Its a really nice day outside today. I am tempted to leave an hour early and go sit in a cafe and have a beer.

I'm trying to think of a way to get the fuck out of our horrible house before Christmas. Maybe if I can get around a $50k advance for the new book then something could be done with some of that. I would even be open to renting. The question is whether I'd bother continuing to pay the mortgage on our current place. Its a nice piece of land but I have got to get us out of this horrible house. I wouldn't want to change school districts if I could avoid it. Ida just started first grade today. If I could get a hold of $100k all at once, somehow or another, then I could get a nice little house built right away on my current piece of land.

It all comes down to this event at the FCI and having a full pilot green lit for my TV show. If those two things happen then we're really going to be ok. With the coverage I'll get in the NYT from the FCI goose event, plus the buzz from making the pilot, I'll get a really fat book advance. And if I can get even just one season of the TV show then we'll definitely be able to build a proper house.

I'm not even looking for anything fancy. Just a house with insulation, a heat pump and closets. Level floors. A house that isn't falling apart and isn't collapsing and doesn't have a hundred little ways for snakes and rodents to get inside of it. A house with wiring that isn't in danger of setting the place on fire while we sleep.

My publisher is still going over my manuscript even as they work on the cover and the publicity plan. I really hope that they don't come back asking me for any changes or additions. Until that final thumbs up has been given, I don't get the second half of my advance for that book. The sooner it comes, the better. I'm a little worried about a 2-4 week crisis period of no money happening when I return from my Florida trip.

5:00 p.m. - 2010-08-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far