cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Finally Transitioning

I'm mostly over my illness. No fever, but I'm still getting aches and icepick headaches. Today I drove over 100 miles round trip to scout for the perfect location to take my client dove hunting on Monday. That took up pretty much the whole day. Lots of hiking and lots of sitting there at the edge of a field, analyzing the way that the birds were moving to determine what their staging areas were, how they were likely to enter the field on Monday, and where a right-handed shooter should be set up for the maximum shot opportunities.

I am a complete fucking sucker for only charging $100 a head for this. Seriously. I don't even want to think about what I'll have spent on gas, let alone my time scouting. The hope is that this is mostly a dry run to learn how to work as a hunting guide for this type of prey.

Now I'm exhausted and sunburned. I was so drenched with sweat on my way out of there that I had to drive half way home with no shirt on.

I got home at about 6 pm. At least I seem to be getting home from work slightly earlier than I did when I worked as a financial professional at a desk. Then I had about 45 minutes of desk work at home, sort of negating that point. I've got another 2 hours or so of desk work to see to tomorrow.

We heard back from Anim@l Planet in detail today. Fortunately, it isn't the producers who tried to fuck me over with that shitty contract. Some other random dude read about what I was doing second hand with the new book and it gave him the idea for a TV show, not knowing that I was already working on a show based on the book. Technically he is competition, but dude is WAY behind me. This producer has no talent lined up, no shooting schedule, no list of species and no fucking clue whatsoever how to go about making a show like this actually happen. He is not a serious threat to me.

Meanwhile, we pitched to National Ge0graphic today, plus Spike and the F00d network and 2 others that I forget. We'll probably have some feedback from all of them by Wednesday. I am feeling more confident every day that this show is going to get picked up.

Boy, am I ever fucked if it isn't.

Actually, I have to move my ass either way. Since there is someone else trying to make a show out of my concept, if he gets his (ripping me off) show on the air before my book gets sold, then that jeopardizes my ability to own the concept and sell the book. I HAVE TO MOVE FAST. Possibly even move the date for marketing the book up by a full month, just in case.

Could I have 5 or 6 full chapters done by Halloween? I might need to, in order to have this out on bid to publishers in the first week of November. It would be really rough, but I could do it.

This whole transition still doesn't feel completely real. I feel like I'm supposed to go back to the office and do my old job the day after Labor Day. This doesn't feel permanent yet. It hasn't fully sunken in.

10:50 p.m. - 2010-09-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far