cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Expedition's Eve

It is 7:30 pm and I'm leaving at about 8 am on this expedition tomorrow morning. I spent most of today dealing with retarded bullshit in advance of that. Not even getting to finish packing yet. I spent the whole afternoon doing the following:

- Meeting with the NPR producer to review the short series she is producing about my project. She gave me a recorder to bring along. This is for NPR domestically and might also air on whatever the German version of NPR is called. I forget what the hell they call it.

- Endless phone calls with my poor, hand-wringing TV producer. Reviewing the shooting schedule, making sure he understands where and when to be.

- Talking to my food guy about chefs for this trip and for the NYC rooftop pigeon project next month.

- Long conversation with the dude I'm hunting with when I get down to the Gulf coast.

- Mapping every step of the driving route.

I find it astounding that so many people -- serious people -- have jumped aboard this thing and decided to contribute towards it happening. With basically no money or resources whatsoever. It was just an idea. I took this idea and I wrote about it and talked about it and refused to shut up about it. Month after month I hammered away at this thing and I made people believe in it. Wow.

This will be the longest trip that I have taken since I did a 3 week Outward Bound course as a teenager. Sweet fucking Christ how I hope that this pays off, financially, and soon. We're going to be hitting a rough spot at the end of September as it stands. And by 'rough spot,' I mean running around to pawn shops to hawk everything I own, and probably clearing out the sad remains of my retirement savings. I'm throwing everything on this one toss with this trip, this book and this TV show.

7:30 p.m. - 2010-09-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far