cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is insane

So far it doesn't pay very well, but I have to point out that I HAVE THE BEST JOB IN THE WHOLE WORLD.

Yes, it is still work. But its MY work. I choose where and roughly when I do it. And I get to go hunting and fishing and snorkeling and explain megafaunal extinctions. And of course I write. NPR is going to cover me again. National Ge0graphic is considering picking me up. The world is full of promise.

Here is the million dollar question: Am I right about the book? Will this really be in demand and will I really get the kind of book advance that will pay the bills for the next year?

I just don't know for sure. I *think* that it will. But I don't know for sure.
I know that I can write the book and I know that it will be fucking great. Will I get a big advance? Christ, I fucking hope so. As long as its at least $40k then we'll be all right. Well, no. Actually it needs to be at least $45k because I need to use a bunch of the money to finance the rest of my travel to finish the book.

Seriously, though: what the fuck? What the fuck kind of crazy shit is this? This whole idea of not just having the idea but actually quitting my day job and going out and traveling around the continent with this. Jesus H. Christ I must be out of my fucking mind.

______________


I had a dream about someone last night. Someone whom I've had dreams about before. It was a good dream, but now I miss her more.

9:52 p.m. - 2010-09-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far