cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Holy shit!

Holy shit, what an intense time the last 4 days have been. No internet access until now and I have a fuck ton of work and email to catch up on so I'll be brief.

The pilot was filmed and it is AWESOME. Everything about this was awesome. I have no words for the awesomeness.

It started out especially amazing because of who else was there. I had heard that there was some reporter who was supposed to be there with me and the 1guana hunter I was working and filming with, but I didn't know who it was and didn't really care. When I arrived at dude's house I found out that the reporter, who would arrive in about 5 minutes, was none other than Grant St0ddard! Grant who wrote a column for Nerve m@gazine for many years. I loved his stuff and I've gone back again and again over the years to re-read it. He was there to do an article for Men's He@lth magazine (WTF?). I think he was equally pleased and surprised to be greeted by someone who admired his work as I was to be running into him.

George was fucking great as well. So was his girlfriend. I can honestly say that all of us genuinely had a really good time hanging out and working together the whole time and if we lived nearby we'd all probably be hanging out again next weekend.

Grant, George and I rode around in a golf cart for 2 days hunting these black iguan@s with air rifles. The first night I was up until around 1 am doing voice-overs for the TV show. I ended up insisting that we include Grant in the show. If this ever airs, he's sitting at the table across from me in the restaurant eating the tacos that were made from the meat.

Filming at the restaurant was amazing because everyone acted like I was this big rock star, even though I'm really just some dumbass who kills and eats things and wrote a book about it. The whole kitchen staff and all of the customers made such a big thing out of it. I guess with the cameras and everything, it made me look very important.

The ass-kissing from the production crew was a bit silly. Insisting that I'm just as good a writer and voice-over narrator as Anthony B0urdain is ridiculous.

Other good news is that I looked fucking great. This matters when you are trying to host a television show. Also I'm good at working with this particular production team. We had to re-work the script quite a bit and nobody was retarded about it. We sat down in the living room and passed a laptop around and I would write something and read it and they would critique and I'd tweak it or trash it based on that. This is important, because I will not just be a little monkey who walks out and hosts. I insist on writing and co-producing as well.

In addition to Nat. Ge0graphic and Spike, the Tr@vel network and TLC are also interested now. Wow! I'm hoping to get picked up by Travel now, because they would give us an hour slot for the show and easily fund trips anywhere in the world that I wanted to go for this.

Now I'm writing this a stone's throw from the ocean, at a table in my pop-up trailer on Big P1ne Key. I cannot fucking believe that I am really here. I made this fucking insane plan AND IT WORKED AND HERE I AM.

Oh, and Grant wants to hook me up to write an article for Men's He@lth magazine, for which I would get about 8 grand. That would be nice.

8:24 p.m. - 2010-09-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far