cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We Are All Good Fellows

I'm up late and can't see my keyboard in the dark but there is just so much that I want to write about. I had so much fun working with Grant and George these last few days and I'm really going to miss them both. George especially. Just one hell of a great guy.

It was good to meet my producer in person and finally get an idea of how I'll be working with him and the principal cinematographer. We have a good working relationship. He is a bit uptight and high-strung, but he probably has good reasons for that. I must admit that every time a camera crew leaves, I feel tremendous relief. Making good TV happen is very hard work and I have to be 'on' for every single second of the day that the cameras are around. There is no opportunity to day dream or space out or think about walruses for a while. Every time I say anything, I must say it exactly perfectly and clearly and as eloquently as ever I can manage. This is grueling.

Is that perhaps what dating is like? I have never dated in the conventional sense so I would have no idea.

Had I not been traveling with my father-in-law, I could have gotten laid 3 times over on this trip so far. I can't even remember the last time I had sex.

I am still getting used to being considered an expert but I'm feeling a little more comfortable with it. I realized over the last few days that I knew something about almost every species of plant, bird, lizard or mammal that was brought up or encountered. In many cases I seemed to know latin names that I didn't even remember learning. I'm not as good at this as, say, a real zoologist. But I am good enough to host a TV show and write some books. Like Steve Irw1n. And I was really pleased to see that my shooting was absolutely up to the task. It would have been really embarrassing to miss many shots with a rifle on camera.

George was and is a fucking fantastic rifle shot. His grasp of the anatomy of the prey added to his rifle skills made him absolutely deadly every time he pulled the trigger. With small bore rifles, within 50 yards and using open sights, he is better than I ever will be. With scopes on mid to big bore rifles out to 200 yards, we may be equals.

Poor Grant could not hit the broad side of the proverbial barn. I think I could get him shooting all right if we spent a few hours at a range.

I'm worried about money but trying not to think about it. We're going to run out shortly and here I am burning cash on this trip. We need the rest of that book advance ASAP.

12:40 a.m. - 2010-09-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far