cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So Close

Well dammit, the editing of the pilot still wasn't finished as of today. Although my understanding is that it *must* be ready by tomorrow morning, because there is some big TV industry event tomorrow where my producer has to be with DVDs of this thing in hand.

I was all set to spend the whole day finishing the re-working of those chapters. I woke up early, was in town by 9 am and sat down in a coffee shop. I got about 2 hours of writing and editing done when I got a phone call saying that they needed me to do some emergency voice-overs right away so it can be ready to show at this broadcast industry convention or whatever this weekend. Fuck fuck fuck.

This meant that I had to go home and set up the bedroom to record in with my Flip camera. Not the perfect tool for this, but the mic in that thing is actually not half bad under controlled circumstances. Then I spent the next two hours doing various takes of each line, transferring them onto my hard drive and emailing them via my painfully slow internet connection.

At around 4 pm I had to go back into town to drop off a DVD of stuff from the igu@na hunt to my NPR producer to pull audio from. Then pick Ida up from her martial arts class and go straight to a family dinner thing.

Bah. I have too much work happening to be able to get my work done. Or something.

My goose event got moved to the 30th, which sort of pisses me off. The Sl0w Food people have really done a shitty job with this event so far. I'm not sure that I want to work with the NYC chapter again after this unless they get some new organizers.

Tomorrow is Saturday and, as usual, I have to work. I've got to get these chapters revised and back to my editor and then maybe, hopefully, I can go try to catch some of those ginormous carp I spotted at my parents' place last weekend. I need to catch and cook some for the new book, aside from just really wanting to do it.

I don't want to organize this October deer class. I'm just sick of the stress involved. We need the money too badly for me not to do it, however. I would love for this or November to be the last one.

Today I also ran into Peter downtown and chatted with him for 10 minutes or so. Somehow we always end up on the subject of Neanderthal DNA. He offered to do the theme song for the show if it gets picked up. This is extremely awesome of him, given that he is a Grammy-winning former member of the D@ve M@thews Band.

Suddenly, I am realizing that this was the only conversation I have had in the last week which was not with either a family member or one of my producers. I really need to get out more. I feel like I'm living in a cave lately.

Tomorrow I need to pack for the first of several pig hunts. I have done absolutely nothing to prepare for it thus far. This will just be a one night trip. I have to be at the gates of this wildlife refuge at 4 fucking am on Monday morning to hunt there. Its supposed to rain, of course. The worst part is that my odds of actually getting - or even seeing - a pig on this hunt are maybe 15% at best. It is a character-building exercise as much as anything else. Slogging through swamps and thorns with the wind in my face and the rain coming down on me, in search of a fer@l pig that I will probably never see, with a shotgun in hand. I am mostly a very practical, meat-oriented hunter. But this is one of those situations where the hunter is just hunting himself.

I'm so close right now. To getting this show greenlit, to getting the deer book put to bed, and to having enough of the travel and research for the new book done that my lit agent can start selling it. And so close to getting another big write-up in the NY T1mes. If things would just progress just a touch farther so that I can, you know, actually start getting paid, then that would be really nice.

10:28 p.m. - 2010-10-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far