cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Aced the interview

I just totally aced my interview with the NY Times. They want all kinds of photos and shit so I think this is going to be a substantial article.

In the past 24 hours I've started moving into publicist mode. Trying to motivate and coordinate my book agent, TV producer, radio producer, Sl0w Food liason, etc.

A favorable article in the Times is a very big fucking deal. Millions of people will read it. Given the demographics of my audience, it is the best possible advertising vehicle that I could hope for. Having the big feature article last year opened doors for me that would otherwise have been totally inaccessible. The NY Times gives one instant credibility. To be the subject of a second feature article doubles that credibility.

It is also important that the subject of this article is going to be a bit different from the last one. This is going to demonstrate that I'm not a one-trick pony. That matters A LOT for those editors and publishers and network executives who looked at the last article but weren't ready to make me an offer yet. In their sum, separated by only 11 months, this pair of articles will demonstrate to those people that I can write, speak, organize, react and tailor my message and product to fit current events.

It will also prove that the first article wasn't just a fluke. I know how to effectively create and manage publicity. As a total nobody, you might manage to get featured in a major newspaper once as a fluke. Doing that twice in the space of a year, plus a string of articles carried worldwide by the AP, 3 features on NPR, a documentary on HBO and a TV pilot would all tend to suggest that I'm pretty good at this.

This is what I want to be going through the minds of those publishers and network executives who read this article and remember seeing the other one last year. It will prompt them to google me and then they will see all of the other news and features that they missed and I will start getting offers within a few hours of the article going up.

Self: don't fuck this up.

12:52 p.m. - 2010-10-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far