cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5 year goal

Please give me the strength to deal with the dumb shit that I don't want to deal with but needs to be taken head-on.

When I have an email that I really don't want to deal with and I've procrastinated and can't put it off any more and it needs to be read, I have a method. First I click on the email in gmail and then I click away to another tab while it loads. That is what I have just done. The email is now unavoidable. Right there in the next tab over. When I click over to that tab to check my email it will be right in front of me. And then I will face it.

I want an assistant for that shit. Forward over the email and let someone else deal with it.

Today I got a shit-load of work done. I did almost half of the revisions that my editor asked for. I might even beat the deadline that I had warned her I couldn't meet.

Tomorrow I'm driving out to look at a piece of land that I'm hopefully going to either repair or build a shooting range on. This is for my class this weekend. We still need a fucking kitchen for Sunday night.

I was thinking more today about where I want to be 5 years from now.

In 5 years I want to have at least 3 of these 'how to' books in print and earning me steady royalties. I want several seasons of a successful TV show under my belt. I want 2 other books aside from the 'how to' books to have been published successfully. I want to be doing at least 6 paid speaking gigs a year, some of them overseas. I want a line of products that I designed and endorsed to be on the market and bringing in money.

I would like to have a small staff and a building to house these various operations. Probably 2 or 3 employees would be about right. An assistant to help deal with email and scheduling and various busy work. Plus someone else to run my website and edit video and do other tech type things.

The building would have offices, my library, a workshop, kitchen, classroom and maybe a small warehouse.

I'd like to see this whole enterprise between books, TV, DVDs, speaking engagements, classes, etc. bring in $200,000 a year. I don't think that is an outrageous goal. That should be able to pay me $70-$100k and have a couple of employees and cover the overhead. The employees are important. It is a good thing to give people jobs.

I do know how to run a business. I spent 11 years helping to do exactly that. The tough part is this transition from the big ideas and the initial work into the next stage. I have ZERO capital. If I pull this shit off then it will be a classic American tale of pulling one's self up by one's own bootstraps.

9:26 p.m. - 2010-10-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far