cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Running Myself Ragged

Oh holy shit I am so fucking tired. So much to write about and so little time and no time in the offing.

The weekend class went really well and I had an awesome bunch of students. Steve lined up a kitchen for us to use at the last minute and it turns out he is on the board of Sl0w Food for this state. He hung out in the kitchen while I taught butchering and we did the cooking and he was apparently impressed. I guess he didn't realize that I have people coming in from all over the country for these classes or that it was all so hands-on. Point is that he said he can easily get me booked as a speaker for the next convention in Sweden, which has been my nefarious plan for the past year.

Also he is going to get me booked for some stuff on the west coast this winter.

The GA pig hunt was fucking insane. I ended up getting an armadillo on the trip, which we literally ran down on foot. It was like playing soccer with a ball that moves on its own, in a cow pasture, in the middle of the night. I'm bringing the meat to NYC tomorrow to cook with some friends.

I found myself standing up in the back of a pickup truck at 4 am, leaned against the back of the cab with an AR-15 assault rifle resting on the roof while I scanned the fields for pigs through a night vision scope and tried not to get rattled out of the truck when we went over big bumps.

Lots of stuff about that trip to write about, but no time now. Had a great time, slept very little, and was invited to come back this winter and do it again.

Came home late last night. Woke up this morning and started working again. Did an interview with Audubon Magaz1ne over the phone. Went into town to pick up a audio recorder from the NPR studi0 and wound up going into the studio to do another interview. Dropped by the old office to chat with my father and print out directions for the subway in NYC. Plowed through email in a coffee shop, had a couple of beers with a very late lunch at the local watering hole. Came home, saw my kids for about an hour before leaving on a clandestine goose mission that was a total failure. The geese just weren't there. Came home, went back out immediately to check a pond on foot that is about half a mile away. No geese despite my circumnavigation of the pond through woods, thorns and swamp.

Came home again, realized I hadn't finished the fucking pigeon trap yet. Did that for an hour. Started to pack. REALIZED THAT I BUILT THE FUCKING TRAP 4 INCHES TOO LONG. Had to switch to a huge suitcase. Now I can't take the subway to Caroline's apartment. Its got to be a cab for $30 or so. Wonderful. Now waiting for clothes to finish drying so I can really pack. Except that I can't finish packing until the morning because I have to put the frozen geese in last.

All hell broke loose after the Times article ran last week. Loads of email. It basically had the intended effect. I've had zero time for writing and am way behind on my deadline for getting the last batch of edits done on the deer book. Let alone working on the new book so I can fucking sell it already and produce some actual income.

I need a break badly. Nothing is in the offing at the moment, unfortunately. I have to write like mad for 2 days when I get home from NYC, then Trish is fucking leaving the state to visit friends for 6 days and I have to take care of the kids while also trying to meet some fucking writing deadlines.

When was the last time I had a day off? How about an afternoon off? I have no idea. Weeks? Months? I just don't even know. Honestly I am running out of steam here. I don't know how much longer I can keep this up, especially when I'm not even getting paid regularly.

1:20 a.m. - 2010-10-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far