cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Little Self-Googling Helps

Travel and Nat. Geo. both declined the show. Bah. We have other networks still in the game, but those were the 2 that I would have preferred. Just in case, my producer and I have been talking about 'plan B' which is basically the question of how we could go ahead and make and distribute the show and get paid for it in the event that we strike out with the cable networks.

Oh, whatever. Fucking whatever. I'm about broke. I have maybe $40 or $50 between 2 different accounts, plus the emergency $50 bill hidden in a belt. We're not going to make it another week, let alone another month, let alone til the end of the year.

I haven't gotten anything done this weekend in the way of work, what with Trish being off drinking our money away in Minneapolis with some friends for a week and my having to look after the kids constantly. I have given up on any hope of having the rest of the advance for the first book before Christmas. Not going to happen. I'm just not being given any opportunity TO GET ANY FUCKING WORK DONE.

Tomorrow is Monday morning and I'm not seeing any way around finally having to clear out what is left of my retirement savings account. I don't know how else to get through the next 6-8 weeks, let alone pay for the trip to Eleuthera in only about 3 weeks. I need to be booking tickets right about now.

You know, I would never say anything about this to anyone, but my parents just got handed over $300k worth of free money from my grandfather's estate 2 months ago. Yes, it is their money and I have no right to it or claim on it. But it would have been nice if they'd offered to use some of it to help with financing this project, given the fact that they are very financially
secure and their mortgage payments on a house 100 times nicer than mine are around less than half of what I pay. Again, I have no right to it nor do I have any expectation. But it would have been nice.

We haven't put the new book on the market yet. There is that. That could be a really, really nice payday. But at the same time, publishing works at a snail's pace. If I had a firm offer by December 1st, I still wouldn't get my first check for it any sooner than the end of January. That's just how that shit goes.

I just googled myself for the first time in ages and that cheered me up some. Mental Floss wrote me up. Whee. Now someone please start writing some checks because I'm on my last beer and I'm running out of heating fuel and feeling more or less up against the wall at the moment.

6:44 p.m. - 2010-11-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far