cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Established

I just wrote my first rifle review for this free-lance thing. I timed it and finished the whole thing in 25 minutes, even with 10 minutes worth of interruptions. There are a few dozen other guns that I'm familiar enough with to do the same with.

Ok, yes, $25 is not a lot of money but it only took me 15-25 minutes depending on how you look at it.

Also I was contacted by what amounts to my competition for the TV show. Another production company trying to essentially rip off my concept. Long story short, they want to hire me away.

I told them that I'm giving my current production partners more time to place the show, but that if they run out of places to shop it then I'm willing to talk. This should be resolved in the next few weeks one way or another.

The important thing about this wasn't so much just about the offer. It was the fact that, based on the substance of the email and the phone call, it is now becoming clear that I own this whole concept. The phone call from these guys was basically them acknowledging that what with the multiple articles in the NYT, a piece in the Washingt0n P0st, Ment@l Fl0ss, the AP, Sl0w Food, Audubon, etc. etc., I am now the established guy to talk to about this topic.

This is a cool feeling. Now if only it can start providing me with some income.

5:21 p.m. - 2010-11-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far