cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Success

Today was a success. I drove over to that vineyard and winery and with the help of a vineyard employee managed to bag half a dozen geese for this upcoming dinner event thing.

I had a whole audience for gutting and plucking them. They were all fascinated. I enlisted the winery owners in the task of plucking the geese and they seemed to enjoy it. They are now all totally gung-ho about the whole project and I am now welcome there at any time to hunt.

Half a dozen geese are very heavy, as it turns out. This is quite a lot of food. Unfortunately the whole thing ended up taking all day. I got ZERO writing or editing done. Also zero email or other desk work.

The people whom I have to work with remotely on all of this stuff have been less than entirely understanding about that situation. The thing is that I am only worth something as a writer and speaker and host and so forth because of the time I spend hunting, guiding, teaching, scouting and butchering. At the same time, doing all of these things regularly means that I have to be outside of instant contact. No cell service, no email, no computer. Sorry folks, but if you could reach me instantly then there wouldn't be anything to talk about.

Son of a bitch, I really need a whole day to just write and email. A whole day. Not tomorrow, since I have to watch my 3 year old all morning and then its that magazine interview and then its back out to the winery to plan the logistics of the goose event. Wednesday is supposed to be shooting more geese. Which I'd better, because we need a few more for the event if possible plus I'm supposed to bring one for Thanksgiving dinner on Thursday as well.

So, Friday? Fuck no. I can't be waiting until Friday to actually spend a day writing. Its fucking Monday right now.

Here's something nice: I just got Paypaled about $200 for last week's gun reviews. That is very satisfying. $200 for writing stuff about rifles and shotguns that I happen to know off the top of my head, and its the sort of thing that I regularly write for free in emails to people who ask me about that shit. And I will get that much or more every week for the next few months for doing more of this work. No, it isn't a ton of money. But it can cover the incidental expenses on my trip to the Bahamas next month and after that it can make my health insurance premiums for a while.

What I do now is all pure skill and luck. There is no bureaucracy to hide within. No excuses. I kill the thing I need to kill and butcher, or I do not. There is nothing to hide behind. I either understand the nature of the prey and of my weapon and of the habitat, or I do not. Ditto for my writing.

7:09 p.m. - 2010-11-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far