cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Out of Time

I find myself just about out of time. My flight leaves at 6 am tomorrow morning and I haven't gotten half of what I needed to get done yet. I still have to write 6 or 7 gun reviews before I leave. I can't seem to get in touch with the people I'm meeting up with on Eleuthera. No idea what is going on with the gun situation when I get there. I still have to pack and figure out how to use these underwater cameras that I bought for the trip. Then I have about a week's backlog of email to read and respond to.

All of this, and I need to fall asleep early enough to get some sleep before I leave.

Oh, Christmas shopping. Yeah, I've done exactly none of that. I don't think that I'll have internet or cell phone access while I'm gone. So I've got to get it all done in the few days between my return and Christmas.

Oy.

Yesterday was good. I went to the Terr@ Madre thing that Sl0w Food put on. We built a massive bonfire - I mean MASSIVE. About 40 feet by 20 feet and over 10 feet high. I was the lucky bastard who was tasked with climbing all over it with a can of kerosene before lighting it. Then they also had a big grill rigged up out of cinder blocks with a huge grate to lay over them for everyone to cook on.

Steve had an apple tree that was at the end of its days and he'd sawn it up into sections for us to cook with. I happened to have a hatchet on my belt so I split the logs into firewood. Then I built the cooking fire.

Someone else brought a whole deer that he had just shot an hour earlier. This wasn't what I had expected to be doing, but I went ahead and started butchering it for him. People gathered around to stare as we laid the deer out on the driveway, so I went right into teaching mode and turned it into a little butchering class. I had an audience of about 50 people.

Afterward it was really weird. Everyone was treating me like a rock star. A bunch of them had heard a story about me on NPR last week, which I didn't even know had aired. Apparently this particular crowd wasn't used to guys that know how to split logs, build fires, or butcher a deer. Everything I was doing was very novel to them.

Ok, this is going to sound even weirder but I swear that these women were practically throwing themselves at me. I had a bunch of them ask for my number or email address. It was lovely. I only wish that one of them had dragged me off into the bushes.

Oh, and some dumbass was there with a camera filming and interviewing people for some stupid TV show. I say he was a dumbass because he was a shitty interviewer. The guy asked me for an interview, although he didn't know the first thing about me or who I am or what I do. His questions were consequently shit and he gave me a hand-held mic to use. It was all sort of half-assed.

We were all having a nice time when it started raining and the night ended early. Too bad, because I think I probably would have gotten some action if it had gone later.

9:53 a.m. - 2010-12-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far