cellini's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Awesome Idea

Today we ran out of heating oil again. Fuck. Its really cold.

Meanwhile, I was over at Paul's house today to work on a rifle with him and I had an awesome idea for something we should film. I'm thinking that later this year, as a promotional thing or whatever, I'll go on a road trip to the nearest place where I can use a pick and shovel to dig iron ore out of the ground.

I'll load maybe 1,000 pounds of it into the back of a truck and drive it back home. Then I'll go to a coal mine and dig out a truck load of coal. Paul and I can build a kiln to cook some of the coal into coke. Then we'll build a small furnace to smelt the ore and make a small amount of steel.

We'll use the steel to make knives on his forge. Perhaps a rifle as well, although I think we'd better make it just a little single shot .22 since we won't have a great deal of control over the strength and carbon content of the steel with the primitive technology we'd be using.

Paul is a blacksmith who has studied primitive metalworking techniques, so we could really pull this off.

Anyway, this would make a really fucking awesome 30 minute documentary and I think I'm going to do it.

11:34 p.m. - 2011-01-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

metonym
mnemosynea
pipersplace
jendix

0 comments so far